Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
Journal
De / En

Press Talk:
03.05.2019, 10 a.m.

Opening:
03.05.2019, 7 p.m.

Open on June 9th, 10th and 17th 2019 from 10 a.m. until 6 p.m.

03.05. – 05.05.2019

aktuelle kunst in Graz

04.05.2019 Free shuttle service Vienna-Graz-Vienna: info@galerientage-graz.at

Saturday, 11 a.m.
Public Tour
Saturday 2 p.m.
Open Lab, get to work in the KM– Lab
Individual tours: please contact us by phone or by email at vb@km-k.at

Dates

May 4, 3 p.m.
aktuelle kunst in graz
Florian Waldvogel (Hamburg)
Tour

May 9, 6 p.m.
Victim? Perpetrator? “Annexation” 1938 and the Austrian Identity
Heidemarie Uhl (Academy of Sciences, IKT, Vienna)
Lecture

May 11, 3 p.m.
The Face of a Joke: Caricature and Satirical Illustration
Jörg Vogeltanz (Graz)
Workshop

May 16, 6 p.m.
In Inverted Commas – The Splendor and Misery of Political Correctness
Matthias Dusini (feuilleton director, Falter, Vienna)
Thomas Edlinger (director of the Donaufestival, Krems)
Book Discussion

May 21, 6 p.m.
Hate on the Internet (Neo Magazin Royale)
Delete Yourself! About Hate on the Web (Kooperative Berlin)

Vanessa Joan Müller (Kunsthalle Wien)
Television Evening

June 01, 2 p.m.
Humor Is Allowed to Hurt!
Erika Ratcliffe (Berlin)
Convo Club

June 06, 6 p.m.
Populism and Pop Music
André Doehring (Jazz and Popular Music Research, University of Music and Performing Arts, Graz)
Lecture

June 08, 3 p.m.
TV-Democracy
Paul Fleischanderl (ORF, Vienna)
Lara Möller (Democracy Center Vienna)
Convo Club

June 13, 6 p.m.
Status Reports
Stefanie Sargnagel (Vienna)
Cooperation: Dramatiker_innenfestival, Schauspielhaus Graz
Reading

June 19, 7 p.m.
Austropop(sch) Wuchteldrucken
Itzo Easy (southeast Austria)
DJJJogi (Schwarzwald) vs. DJ Özzi (Altwald)
Concert, Closing

05 04 2019 — 06 19 2019

Jan Böhmermann
and bildundtonfabrik

Deuscthland#ASNCHLUSS
#Östereich

Besides his examination of social and political questions, Jan Böhmermann again and again focuses on the boundaries of satire and its place in the cultural sphere. For the project "Deuscthland#ASNCHLUSS#Östereich," Böhmermann concentrates his cumulative lapses in concentration on the identity of the Republic of Austria and its “motherland” Germany (direct quote of Böhmermann)—and questions the political and cultural status quo in the country that we call home with a proper amount of black humor. With the exhibition in Graz, Jan Böhmermann and his comrades-in-arms at the production company btf GmbH expand their successful installation "DEUSCTHLAND" (2017, NRW Forum, Dusseldorf) toward the southeast.

As one of the fundamental ideas of democracy, freedom of expression is also increasingly under discussion in Europe as a result of populist and antidemocratic movements and hence must be defended. Satire is a genre that is based on provocation and thus frequently sparks controversies: since the attacks in connection with the Mohammed caricatures in the Danish daily newspaper "Jyllands-Posten" and at the latest with the assaults on the editorial department of the French satire magazine "Charlie Hebdo," political satire with its boundaries and delimitations has become a fixed component of discourses surrounding art and freedom of the press as well as freedom of speech.
With the exhibition "Deuscthland#ASNCHLUSS#Östereich," the Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien (KM– Graz) puts further emphasis on free speech as one of the highest values of our democratic civil society.

Designed as a satire of reality, "Deuscthland#ASNCHLUSS#Östereich" demands a bit of initiative from visitors and deals with the substance of the individual: the tight passport control at the entrance to Böhmermann’s “Deuscthland” and “Östereich,” the personal choice of a new identity when confronted with one’s own biases regarding class, race, or gender, up to an examination of how the historical guilt is reflected in oneself personally are only a few of the experiences in this nerve-racking show with its fast-paced ride through the virtual Nazi history theme park. For the Austrian version of the debut in the field of visual art, Böhmermann and his team have also created large-format new productions that well and truly put local sarcasm to the test.

The path through the exhibition consisting of satirical, humorous thought experiments primarily strives to stimulate responsible thinking and makes reference to the political responsibility of each individual. The satirist thus firmly bears in mind the situation for art and humor in Austria: “The role of the comedian or trash-talker in society cannot be overestimated—seriously. I would seriously never do that; that is something society unfortunately has to find out for itself. In Austria—this is the nice thing—society will soon have the opportunity to find out how great the social value of artists or comedians is, namely when art and humor that is directed against specific points of view is banned or torpedoed by the government.” (direct quote of Böhmermann, kurier.at of November 18, 2018)

Jan Böhmermann (*1981 Bremen) is a German satirist, moderator, and author, and calls himself a “public juggler.” In cooperation with his production firm, btf GmbH in Cologne, he has conceived the late night show “Neo Magazin Royale” for the public broadcasters ZDF and ZDFneo since 2015. His format “Fest & Flauschig” (solid and fluffy), which he moderates along with the singer-songwriter Olli Schulz, is one of the most popular podcasts in the world on the music streaming service Spotify. Böhmermann enjoys touching on sore points and stops at nothing or nobody: the political and legal controversies surrounding his defamatory poem about the Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan triggered a large response in the international media. In the past years, his work has been awarded the German Television Award, the Grimme Prize, and, in 2018, also the ROMY.

Supporting Program: Events and Art Education

The medial exhibition experiment "Deuscthland#ASNCHLUSS#Östereich" is accompanied by a broad program of special events and mediation formats tailored to the project. This supporting program serves as a supplement to the exhibition, offers interested visitors the possibility to delve deeper into the topic, and encourages discourse as well as fantasy.

On Thursdays as of 6 p.m., the KM– invites visitors to the free event “An Art Day's Night” (AADN). In cooperation with the Schauspielhaus Graz and its Dramatiker_innenfestival the reading “Status Reports" by the Viennese author and blogger Stefanie Sargnagel takes place within this framework. In connection with the thematic background of the exhibition, the historian Heidemarie Uhl presents a historically oriented lecture on the “Annexation" of 1938, the memory of this historic event, and its effects, which are still perceptible today. In addition, André Doehring presents the international research project “Popular Music as a Medium for the Mainstreaming of Populist Ideologies in Europe,” which is dedicated to the use, role, and structure of popular music in populist movements, and makes reference to Böhmermann’s artistic work from the perspective of music analysis. The artistic director of the Donaufestival, Thomas Edlinger, and Matthias Dusini, a feature writer for the weekly newspaper "Falter," critically and pointedly discuss the current state of political correctness. A television evening shows Böhmermann in action against hate on the Web and the founding of “Reconquista Internet,” followed by the alarmingly up-to-date educational documentation “Delete Yourself!,” about hate on the Internet.

In the “Convo Club,” younger positions from political science, the mass media, and comedy have their say: discussions take place within this comfortable framework along with a sparkling cold drink. Interested individuals can also engage in satire themselves and create caricatures illustrating current news stories in a workshop with Jörg Vogeltanz. Exploring one’s own creativity is now possible at any time at the Künstlerhaus: the “KM– Lab” is an interactive participatory station in the exhibition that invites visitors to text, draw, and design. There is also an “Open Lab” in which visitors of all ages can become active in cooperation with our mediation team. At the closing event, the "One Man Kapölln," Itzo Easy, finally addresses agitprop and hedonism in the German-Austrian dialogue.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En

Pressegespräch
03.05.2019, 10:00

Eröffnung:
03.05.2019, 19:00

Geöffnet an den Feiertagen 09.06.2019 sowie am 10.06.2019 und 17.06.2019 von 10 bis 18 Uhr

03.05. – 05.05.2019

aktuelle kunst in Graz

04.05.2019 Kostenfreier Shuttle-Service Wien-Graz-Wien: info@galerientage-graz.at

Samstag 11:00
Öffentliche Führung
Samstag 14:00 Open Lab, Werken im KM– Lab
Ihre Führung: Telefonische Vereinbarung bzw. e-mail an vb@km-k.at

Termine

04.05. 15:00
aktuelle kunst in graz
Florian Waldvogel (Hamburg)
Rundgang

09.05. 18:00
Opfer? Täter? „Anschluss“ 1938 und die österreichische Identität
Heidemarie Uhl (Akademie der Wissenschaften, IKT, Wien)
Vortrag

11.05. 15:00
The Face of a Joke: Karikatur und satirische Illustration
Jörg Vogeltanz (Graz)
Workshop

16.05. 18:00
In Anführungszeichen – Glanz und Elend der Political Correctness
Matthias Dusini (Leitung Feuilleton, Falter Wien)
Thomas Edlinger (Direktor Donaufestival, Krems)
Buchbesprechung

21.05. 18:00
Hass im Internet (Neo Magazin Royale)
Lösch Dich! So organisiert ist der Hass im Netz (Kooperative Berlin)

Vanessa Joan Müller (Kunsthalle Wien)
Fernsehabend

01.06. 14:00
Humor darf weh tun!
Erika Ratcliffe (Berlin)
Convo Club

06.06. 18:00
Populismus und Pop-Musik
André Doehring (Jazz- und Popularmusikforschung, Kunstuniv. Graz)
Vortrag

08.06. 15:00
TV-Demokratie
Paul Fleischanderl (ORF Wien)
Lara Möller (Demokratiezentrum Wien)
Convo Club

13.06. 18:00
Statusmeldungen
Stefanie Sargnagel (Wien)
Kooperation: Dramatiker_innenfestival, Schauspielhaus Graz
Lesung

19.06. 19:00
Austropop(sch) Wuchteldrucken
Itzo Easy (Südostösterreich)
DJJJogi (Schwarzwald) vs. DJ Özzi (Altwald)
Konzert, Finissage

04 05 2019 — 19 06 2019

Jan Böhmermann
und bildundtonfabrik

Deuscthland#ASNCHLUSS
#Östereich

Neben seiner Auseinandersetzung mit gesellschaftlichen und politischen Fragestellungen fokussiert Jan Böhmermann immer wieder die Grenzen der Satire und ihren Platz im kulturellen Raum. Für das Projekt „Deuscthland#ASNCHLUSS#Östereich" konzentriert Böhmermann seine geballte Unkonzentriertheit auf die Identität der österreichischen Republik und „ihres Mutterlandes Deutschland“ (O-Ton Böhmermann) – und fragt mit einer gehörigen Portion schwarzem Humor nach dem politischen und kulturellen Status-Quo des Landes, das wir Heimat nennen. Mit der Grazer Ausstellung erweitern Jan Böhmermann und seine Mitstreiter der Produktionsfirma btf GmbH ihre erfolgreiche Installation „DEUSCTHLAND“ (2017, NRW Forum, Düsseldorf) nach Südosten.

Als einer der demokratischen Grundgedanken steht die Freiheit des Wortes auf Grund populistischer und anti-demokratischer Bewegungen zunehmend auch in Europa zur Diskussion und muss verteidigt werden. Ein Genre, dem Provokation zu Grunde liegt und damit oft für Kontroversen sorgt, ist die Satire: Seit den Attacken im Kontext der Mohammed-Karikaturen der dänischen Tageszeitung „Jyllands-Posten“ und spätestens mit den Anschlägen auf die Redaktion der französischen Satire-Zeitschrift „Charlie Hebdo“ ist die Polit-Satire mit ihren Ab- und Begrenzungen fester Bestandteil der Diskurse um Kunst-, Presse- und Meinungsfreiheit.
Das Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien (KM– Graz) setzt mit der Ausstellung „Deuscthland#ASNCHLUSS#Östereich“ einen weiteren Schwerpunkt um freie Rede als einen der höchsten Werte unserer demokratischen Zivilgesellschaft.

Als Realsatire gestaltet verlangt „Deuscthland#ASNCHLUSS#Östereich“ von den Besucher_innen einiges an Initiative und geht an die Substanz des Einzelnen: Die harte Passkontrolle am Eingang zu Böhmermanns Deuscthland und Östereich, die persönliche Wahl einer neuen Identität in Konfrontation zu den eigenen Vorurteilen bezüglich Klasse, Rasse oder des Geschlechts bis hin zur Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Spiegelung in der historischen Schuld während des rasanten Ritts durch den virtuellen Nazi-History-Themenpark sind nur einige wenige der „Erlebnismomente" dieser nervenaufreibenden Show. Für die österreichische Version des Debüts im Feld der Bildenden Kunst erschaffen Böhmermann und sein Team zusätzlich großformatige Neuproduktion, die den hiesigen Schmäh gehörig auf die Probe stellen.

Der Ausstellungsparcours aus satirisch-humoristischen Gedankenspielen will vorrangig zum mündigen Denken anregen und auf die politische Verantwortung eines Jeden verweisen. Dabei behält der Satiriker die Situation für Kunst und Komik in Österreich fest im Blick: „Die Rolle des Komikers oder Quatschvogels in der Gesellschaft kann man gar nicht hoch genug bewerten – im Ernst. Das würde ich aber im Ernst niemals tun, sondern das muss leider die Gesellschaft selbst herausfinden. In Österreich – das ist das Schöne – hat die Gesellschaft bald die Gelegenheit, herauszufinden, wie hoch der gesellschaftliche Stellenwert von Künstlern oder Komikern ist, wenn nämlich Kunst und Komik, die sich gegen bestimmte Meinungen richten, von der Regierung verboten oder torpediert werden." (O-Ton Böhmermann, kurier.at vom 18.11.2018)

Jan Böhmermann (*1981 Bremen) ist ein deutscher Satiriker, Moderator und Autor und bezeichnet sich selbst als „öffentlicher Jongleur“. Er konzipiert zusammen mit seiner Kölner Produktionsfirma btf GmbH seit 2015 für die öffentlich rechtlichen Sender ZDF und ZDFneo die Late-Night-Show „Neo Magazin Royale“. Sein Format „Fest & Flauschig“, das er zusammen mit dem Singer-Songwriter Olli Schulz moderiert, ist einer der weltweit beliebtesten Podcasts des Musikstreaming-Dienstes Spotify. Böhmermann legt den Finger gern in die Wunde und macht vor nichts und niemandem Halt: Unter anderem löste die politische und rechtliche Kontroverse um sein Schmähgedicht zur Person des türkischen Präsidenten Recep Tayyip Erdoğan ein internationales Medienecho aus. Seine Arbeit ist in den vergangenen Jahren mehrfach mit dem Deutschen Fernsehpreis, dem Grimme-Preis und 2018 auch mit der ROMY ausgezeichnet worden.

Rahmenprogramm: Veranstaltungen und Vermittlung

Das mediale Ausstellungsexperiment wird durch ein breites Programm aus Sonderveranstaltungen und auf das Projekt zugeschnittene Vermittlungsformate begleitet. Dieses Rahmenprogramm fungiert als Ergänzung zur Ausstellung, bietet interessierten Besucher_innen die Möglichkeit der thematischen Vertiefung und regt Diskurs wie Phantasie an.

Donnerstags lädt das KM– ab 18 Uhr kostenfrei zu „An Art Day's Night“ (AADN) ein. In Kooperation mit dem Schauspielhaus Graz und dessen Dramatiker_innenfestival findet darin die Lesung „Statusmeldungen" der Wiener Autorin und Bloggerin Stefanie Sargnagel statt. Die Historikerin Heidemarie Uhl wird anlässlich des thematischen Hintergrunds der Ausstellung einen historisch orientierten Vortrag über den Anschluss 1938, die Erinnerung an dieses historische Ereignis und seine noch heute spürbaren Folgen halten. Zudem wird André Doehring das internationale Forschungsprojekt „Popular Music as a Medium for the Mainstreaming of Populist Ideologies in Europe“, das sich dem Gebrauch, der Rolle und Struktur von populärer Musik in populistischen Strömungen widmet, vorstellen und musikanalytisch Bezug auf Böhmermanns künstlerisches Schaffen nehmen. Kritisch und pointiert diskutieren der Intendant des Donaufestivals, Thomas Edlinger, und Falter-Feuilletonist Matthias Dusini den gegenwärtigen Stand der Political Correctness. Ein Fernsehabend zeigt Böhmermann in Aktion gegen Hass im Netz und die Gründung von „Reconquista Internet", worauf die erschreckend aktuelle Edu-Doku „Lösch Dich!" folgt.

Im „Convo Club“ kommen jüngere Positionen aus Politikwissenschaft, Massenmedien und Kabarett zu Wort: In gemütlichem Rahmen wird bei einem spritzigen Kaltgetränk diskutiert. Interessierte können sich auch selbst in Satire üben und in einem Workshop mit Jörg Vogeltanz Karikaturen in Illustration aktueller Nachrichten anfertigen. Die eigene Kreativität erkunden ist neuerdings jederzeit im Künstlerhaus möglich: Das „KM– Lab“ ist eine interaktive Mitmach-Station in der Ausstellung, die zum Texten, Zeichnen und Gestalten einlädt. Zusätzlich findet das „Open Lab“ statt, bei dem Besucher_innen aller Altersstufen gemeinsam mit unserem Vermittlungsteam aktiv werden können. Zur Finissage gibt die „One Man Kapölln" Itzo Easy schließlich Agit-Prop und Hedonismus im deutsch-österreichischen Zwiegespräch zum Besten.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h