Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
Journal
De / En

Admission is free, no registration required.

05 16 2019  6 p.m.

In Inverted Commas – The Splendor and Misery of Political Correctness

Matthias Dusini & Thomas Edlinger, Book Discussion
Thomas Edlinger, Matthias Dusini, photo: Ingo Petramer, private

By reference to numerous case examples from politics, art, and culture, Thomas Edlinger and Matthias Dusini analyze in their book “In Anführungszeichen – Glanz und Elend der Political Correctness” (In Inverted Commas – The Splendor and Misery of Political Correctness, 2012, edition suhrkamp) the ambivalences, old and new opponents, and partly unexpected complicities of political correctness. Political correctness has evolved from academic discussion into a political long runner. It is one of the leitmotifs of right-wing populist rhetorics, which agitates against the „gender craze“ and „human rights kitsch“. Also the feminist and anti-racist front has gained fire power. Social media debates are dominated by terms like intersectionality and tone policing. The book then poses the question: Is there a way to take the demands for integrity of heart and soul, the base of human rights seriously, without becoming a troll oneself? On the occasion of the exhibition of the political satirist Jan Böhmermann, the authors Edlinger and Dusini will discuss the current status of political correctness, its development and parameters.

Mag. Thomas Edlinger (*1967 Vienna, lives in Vienna) is a radio producer, cultural journalist, author and since 2017 the artistic director of the Donaufestival in Krems. He studied philosophy, journalism and German studies and is regarded as a supporter of alternative art and culture, next to his work in media. Edlinger has curated numerous exhibition projects, among others for the Lentos Museum, Linz, Quarter21, Vienna, O.K. Center for Contemporary Art, Linz, and Kunsthalle Wien, Vienna. After his teaching activities at the University of Art and Industrial Design, Linz, and FH Joanneum, Graz, Edlinger holds a teaching assignment at the University of Applied Arts Vienna at the department of art and knowledge transfer.

Mag. Matthias Dusini (*1967 Merano, lives in Vienna) is a cultural journalist for the public broadcast ORF and the art magazine “springerin” since 1994, and heads the arts section of the Viennese weekly newspaper Falter. He also works as an author: Next to his publication with Thomas Edlinger in 2012 he released the book “Covering the Room” together with Florian Pumhösl in 1998, and together with Silvia Eiblmayr he released the book “Azioni Materiali” on the performance art of Michelangelo Pistoletto.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En

Eintritt frei, keine Anmeldung erforderlich.

16 05 2019  18:00

In Anführungszeichen – Glanz und Elend der Political Correctness

Matthias Dusini, Thomas Edlinger, Buchbesprechung
Thomas Edlinger, Matthias Dusini, Foto: Ingo Petramer, privat

Anhand zahlreicher Fallbeispiele aus Politik, Kunst und Kultur analysierten Thomas Edlinger und Matthias Dusini in ihrem gemeinsamen Buch „In Anführungszeichen – Glanz und Elend der Political Correctness“ (2012, edition suhrkamp) die Ambivalenzen, alten und neuen Gegner und teils unvermuteten Komplizenschaften der Political Correctness. Die Political Correctness entwickelte sich von einer akademischen Diskussion zum politischen Dauerbrenner. Sie ist eines der Leitmotive rechtspopulistischer Rhetorik, die gegen „Genderwahn“ und „Menschenrechtskitsch“ agitiert. Doch auch die feministische und antirassistische Front gewann an Feuerkraft. In den sozialen Medien beherrschen Begriffe wie Intersektionalität und Tone policing die Debatten. Das Buch wirft nun die Frage auf: Lässt sich ein Weg finden, der die Forderung nach Integrität von Leib und Seele und die Basis der Menschenrechte ernst nimmt, ohne selbst zum Troll zu werden? Anlässlich der Ausstellung von Polit-Satiriker Jan Böhmermann diskutieren die Autoren Edlinger und Dusini den aktuellen Stand der Political Correctness, ihre Entwicklung und Parameter.

Mag. Thomas Edlinger (*1967 Wien, lebt in Wien) ist Radiomacher, freier Kulturjournalist, Buchautor und seit 2017 künstlerischer Leiter des Donaufestivals in Krems. Er hat Philosophie, Publizistik und Germanistik studiert und gilt neben seiner medialen Arbeit als Unterstützer alternativer Kunst und Kultur. Edlinger hat bereits zahlreiche Ausstellungsprojekte kuratiert, u.a. für das Lentos Museum, Linz, Quartier21, Wien, O.K. Centrum für Gegenwartskunst, Linz und die Kunsthalle Wien. Nach seiner Lehrtätigkeit an der Kunstuniversität Linz und der FH Joanneum in Graz übt Thomas Edlinger einen Lehrauftrag an der Universität für Angewandte Kunst in Wien im Fachbereich Kunst und Wissenstransfer aus.

Mag. Matthias Dusini (*1967 Meran, lebt in Wien) arbeitet seit 1994 als Kulturjournalist u.a. für den ORF und die Kunstzeitschrift springerin, und leitet das Feuilleton der Wiener Wochenzeitung Falter. Er ist außerdem als Buchautor tätig: Neben seiner Veröffentlichung mit Thomas Edlinger 2012 gab er 1998 gemeinsam mit Florian Pumhösl das Buch „Covering the Room“ und 1999 mit Silvia Eiblmayr die Monografie „Azioni Materiali“ über die Performancekunst Michelangelo Pistolettos heraus.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h