Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
Journal
De / En

Press talk:
23.06.2017, 11 am

closed of Sunday August 12, 2017

Curators: Sandro Droschl, Áron Fenyvesi

Catalogue in progress

Art Education on the exhibition

--

Opening:
June 23, 2017, 6 p.m.

Welcome: Sandro Droschl, director

Mária Molnár, Hungarian Embassy, Collegium Hungaricum Vienna

Vitus Weh as representative of Dr. Stefan Ottrubay, NOW Esterházy Foundation

Dr. Günter Riegler, City Council for Art and Culture, Science and Finance

Mag. Christopher Drexler, Member of the Department of Health, Maintenance, Human Resources, and Culture

On the exhibition: Áron Fenyvesi, curator

Refreshments afterward

--

Supported by the Embassy of Hungary – Collegium Hungaricum Vienna, Esterházy Now, Esterházy Privatstifung, Eisenstadt

Real Hungary – Der Esterházy Kunstpreis
Opening:
27.06 2017, 18 Uhr
Location: Collegium Hungaricum Vienna, Hollandstraße 4, 1020 Vienna
www.becs.balassiintezet.hu/

Part of CMRK Graz

Further CMRK openings on 23.06.2017:
Grazer Kunstverein
Camera Austria
< rotor >

Free shuttle service for the opening:
Departure Vienna 23.6.2017,
3pm, opera Bus 59a
Departure Graz 23.6.2017,
10.30pm, < rotor >, Volksgarten

24 06 2017 — 07 09 2017

Abstract Hungary

Imre Bak, Sári Ember, János Fajó, Andreas Fogarasi, Péter Tamás Halász, György Jovánovics, Tamás Kaszás, Zsófia Keresztes, Ilona Keserü Ilona, Adrian Kiss, Ádám Kokesch, Tamás Komoróczky, László Lakner, Little Warsaw, Mira Dalma Makai, Dóra Maurer, István Nádler, Márton Nemes, Péter Puklus, Klára Rudas, Gergő Szinyova, Zsolt Tibor, Ádám Ulbert, Júlia Vécsei

With "Abstract Hungary" the Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien (KM– Graz) is presenting twenty-four Hungarian artists of different generations whose artistic practice is devoted to current variations of abstract art. The exhibition represents a further development of the narrative blueprint for the much-discussed concept of abstraction. It will feature both established and new artists, some of whom are exhibiting their work for the first time in Austria. On two floors indoors and in a sculpture in public space, art by younger and middle generations enter into a dialogue with pioneers from the 1960s whose oeuvres have remained relevant to the present-day production of art.

Key, internationally known figures such as László Moholy-Nagy, Victor Vasarely, Simon Hantaï, and Lajos Kassák make us aware that abstract art in Hungary has a long and complicated history that has continued to develop throughout the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. For a long time, abstract art was regarded as a practice that received no special recognition.
Contemporary abstract art is inspired by a critical approach to the supposed universality of a visual vocabulary, which, among other things, can be perceived as a kind of universal art relieved of the burden of local context. In Hungary today abstract artists strive for a timeless, enduring perspective of art that is rooted in the knowledge of its long history. The younger generation’s lively, relatively instinctual works tend to distance themselves from a minimalist approach as they open up to a variety of directions from trash aesthetics to the boundaries of figurative art. Taken altogether, it’s possible to discern in them a reflective stance toward the current wave of international attention focused on abstract art.

The term “abstract” plays an overriding role in the show, in the sense that it represents an open-minded, productive attitude that transcends the ostensible practice of formalism. The term also encompasses an art historical, discursive dimension that sheds some critical light on the factor of time, while also regarding the participating artists as a connective element. In a period of ambivalent political, social, economic, and technological spheres, abstract art interprets things beyond the local. This approach plays with the concept of an independent international language, underscoring its strength as a binding element that surpasses language barriers. To this extent, the exhibition is not about representing the country. Rather, it takes today’s complicated and confusing local and international environments as its starting point in order to contrast via proposals and drafts—“abstracts” with future potential—updated and living traditions with a stance that overcomes the classic idea of the nation. Moving beyond the specific interest in the Hungarian art scene, the exhibition’s title could also be interpreted as an interchangeable, “abstract” concept, in the sense that it represents a productive, empty space for potential contemporary international developments in art and society. Ultimately, the title also brings into question the concept of “abstract art,” a term that is overburdened with art historical weight; at best it could be made productive again, as an effective structural aspect of the chain of arguments alluded to here.

The thematic exhibition emphasizes the diverse approaches and understandings of abstract art, from the instinctive and conceptual ideas to the referential and perspectival ones. Without wanting to create an overview with the aid of lexical, chronological, or taxonomic methods, the exhibition demonstrates the complexities of abstract art, which range from the radical geometrical references of the 1960s to the coherent development that continues to this day, despite all of the interruptions and variations.

The Künstlerhaus has invited numerous artists who carry on the legacy of the quiet modernism of abstract art—the neo-avant-garde that was established in the late 1960s. The artists of this generation, such as Imre Bak, János Fajó, György Jovánovics, Ilona Keserü Ilona, and Dóra Maurer, who have recently received increased attention, will present their works from recent years. Other important artists in the show represent New Conceptualism, a movement from the 1990s that includes Andreas Fogarasi, Ádám Kokesch, Tamás Komóroczky, and the art collective Little Warsaw. The youngest generation of Hungarian artists, born in the 1980s and 1990s, such as Sári Ember, Zsófia Kersztes, Klára Rudas, and Gergő Szinyova, are part of the local dialogue and shed new light on current directions in abstract art—most certainly influenced by the conceptual inclusion of the global discourse.

The exhibition "Abstract Hungary" encompasses painting, sculpture, installations, ceramics, photography, and video. The show also incorporates Tamás Kászas’s piece "Stage Monument" (2017), a sculptural and performative intervention in the public space that refers to the historical concepts of Lajos Kassák. This installation will function as both a site for performances and workshops, as well as a meeting point for passersby in the city park, who will be able to use this public space as a stage for their own individual purposes.

A catalogue and a program of events will accompany the exhibition.

June 29, 2017, 6 p.m.
Ludwig Múzeum – Museum of Contemporary Art
Komor Marcell u. 1. 1095 Budapest
www.ludwigmuseum.hu
Discussion with Sári Ember, Dóra Maurer, István Nádler, Márton Nemes, Gergő Szinyova; Gabor Rieder (moderator)
Introduction: Sandro Droschl, Áron Fenyvesi

July 6, 2017, 6 p.m.
Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien (KM– Graz)
Performance on an installative outdoor stage
Stage Monument
Tamás Kaszás

For more on the program of events, please see www.km-k.at

Real Hungary – The Esterházy Art Prize
Opening: June 27, 2017, 6 p.m.
Collegium Hungaricum Vienna, Hollandstrasse 4, 1020 Vienna

Parallel to the "Abstract Hungary" exhibition, the Collegium Hungaricum in Vienna will present the show "Real Hungary." Through the current works of Esterházy prizewinners from the years 2009 to 2015, the show documents the tendencies found in the tradition of Hungarian realism, with reference to select artists as partners in a dialogue.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En

Pressegespräch:
23.06.2017, 11:00

Schließtag: 12. August 2017

Kuratoren: Sandro Droschl, Áron Fenyvesi

Katalog in Vorbereitung

Vermittlungsprogramm zur Ausstellung

--

Eröffnung:
23.06.2017, 18 Uhr

Begrüßung:
Sandro Droschl, Direktor

Grußworte:
Mag. Mária Molnár, Botschaft von Ungarn, Collegium Hungaricum Wien

Vitus Weh in Vertretung von Dr. Stefan Ottrubay, NOW Esterházy Foundation

Dr. Günter Riegler, Stadtrat für Kunst und Kultur, Wissenschaft und Finanzen

Mag. Christopher Drexler, Landesrat für Gesundheit, Pflege, Personal und Kultur

Zur Ausstellung: Áron Fenyvesi, Kurator

Getränke im Anschluss

--

Supported by Botschaft von Ungarn – Collegium Hungaricum Wien, Esterházy Now, Esterházy Privatstifung, Eisenstadt

Real Hungary – Der Esterházy Kunstpreis
Eröffnung:
27.06 2017, 18 Uhr
Ort: Collegium Hungaricum Wien, Hollandstraße 4,
1020 Wien
www.becs.balassiintezet.hu

Teil von CMRK Graz

Weitere CMRK Eröffnungen am 23.06.2017:
Grazer Kunstverein
Camera Austria
< rotor >

Gratis Shuttle Service zur Eröffnung:
Abfahrt Wien 23.6.2017,
15 Uhr, Oper Bus 59a
Abfahrt Graz 23.6.2017,
22.30 Uhr, < rotor >, Volksgarten

24 06 2017 — 07 09 2017

Abstract Hungary

Imre Bak, Sári Ember, János Fajó, Andreas Fogarasi, Péter Tamás Halász, György Jovánovics, Tamás Kaszás, Zsófia Keresztes, Ilona Keserü Ilona, Adrian Kiss, Ádám Kokesch, Tamás Komoróczky, László Lakner, Little Warsaw, Mira Dalma Makai, Dóra Maurer, István Nádler, Márton Nemes, Péter Puklus, Klára Rudas, Gergő Szinyova, Zsolt Tibor, Ádám Ulbert, Júlia Vécsei

Mit „Abstract Hungary“ präsentiert das Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien (KM– Graz) 24 ungarische Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus unterschiedlichen Generationen, die sich in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis aktuellen Abstraktionsverfahren widmen. Die Ausstellung steht für eine weiter gefasste narrative Blaupause zu dem viel diskutierten Begriff der Abstraktion und zeigt etablierte als auch aufstrebende Positionen, von denen einige erstmalig in Österreich ausstellen. Auf zwei Ebenen des Hauses und in einer „Zeichenarbeit“ im Außenraum treten Werke der jüngeren und mittleren Generationen in einen Dialog mit Pionieren der 1960er-Jahre, deren Oeuvre nach wie vor relevant für die heutige Kunstproduktion ist.

Durch international bekannte Schlüsselfiguren wie László Moholy-Nagy, Victor Vasarely, Simon Hantaï oder Lajos Kassák lässt sich die Kunst in Ungarn auch als eine lange und komplexe Geschichte der Abstraktion begreifen, die sich kontinuierlich über das 20. und den Anfang des 21. Jahrhunderts entwickelt hat. Dabei galt Abstraktion für lange Zeit als eine künstlerische Praxis, die von offizieller Seite keine besondere Anerkennung fand.
Die zeitgenössische Abstraktion ist inspiriert von einem kritischen Zugang zu der vermeintlichen Universalität einer visuellen Sprache, die unter anderem auch als universelle Kunst ohne die Belastung des lokalen Kontexts wahrgenommen werden kann. Dabei strebt die aktuelle ungarische Abstraktion nach einer zeitlosen und fortwährenden Perspektive auf Kunst, die ihren Ursprung im Wissen über deren lange Geschichte findet. Die lebhaften, eher instinktiven Arbeiten der jungen Generation entfernen sich teilweise von einem minimalistischen Zugang und öffnen sich mitunter einer Trash-Ästhetik an der Grenze zur Figuralität. Insgesamt ist eine reflektierte Haltung gegenüber der aktuellen internationalen Aufmerksamkeitswelle für Abstraktion zu erkennen.

In der Ausstellung spielt der Begriff „Abstraktion” eine übergeordnete Rolle, im Sinne einer aufgeschlossenen und produktiven Haltung, die einen vordergründig praktizierten Formalismus übersteigt. Der Begriff umfasst auch eine kunstgeschichtliche, diskursive Dimension, die den Faktor Zeit sowohl kritisch beleuchtet als auch als das bindende Element der teilnehmenden Künstler/innen begreift. In einer Zeit mit ambivalenten politischen, sozialen, ökonomischen und technologischen Lebenswelten deutet Abstraktion über das Lokale hinaus. Der Ansatz spielt mit der Vorstellung einer eigenständigen internationalen Sprache und unterstreicht dessen verbindende Stärke jenseits von Sprachgrenzen. Insofern ist die Ausstellung auch keine repräsentative Ländershow, vielmehr nimmt sie das gegenwärtige komplexe und unübersichtliche lokale wie internationale Umfeld als Ausgangspunkt, um im Sinne von Bestandsaufnahmen, Vorschlägen und Entwürfen, eben von „Abstracts” – durchaus mit Zukunftspotential – aktualisierte und lebendig gehaltene Traditionen einer den klassischen Nationenbegriff überwindende Haltung gegenüberzustellen. Der Ausstellungstitel könnte hier jenseits des konkreten Interesses gegenüber der ungarischen Kunstszene auch als ein austauschbarer „abstrakter” Begriff im Sinne einer produktiven Leerstelle für gegenwärtige internationale Entwicklungen in Kunst und Gesellschaft gelesen werden. Schließlich sei damit auch der kunsthistorisch überfrachtete Begriff der „Abstraktion” in Frage gestellt und allenfalls als wirkmäch-tiges strukturelles Moment einer hier angedeuteten Argumentationskette wiederum produktiv gemacht.

Die Themenausstellung betont die unterschiedlichen Zugänge und Verständnisse zur Abstraktion: von instinktiven, konzeptuellen bis zu referentiellen Ideen und Perspektiven. Ohne das Ziel eine Übersicht mit Hilfe einer lexikalischen, chronologischen oder taxonomischen Methode zu kreieren, zeigt die Ausstellung die Komplexität von Abstraktion, die sich über radikal geometrische Bezüge der 1960er Jahre zu der bis heute sich durchziehenden, trotz aller Brüche und Varianten kohärenten Entwicklung streckt.

Das Künstlerhaus hat zahlreiche Künstler/innen eingeladen, die das Erbe des stillen Modernismus der Abstraktion tragen – der Neo-Avantgarde, die sich Ende der 1960er Jahre etablierte. Die Künstler/innen dieser Generation wie Imre Bak, János Fajó, György Jovánovics, Ilona Keserü Ilona und Dóra Maurer, die kürzlich zunehmend Aufmerksamkeit erhalten haben, werden Arbeiten der letzten Jahre im Künstlerhaus präsentieren. Andere wichtige Positionen in der Ausstellung sind die Vertreter des Neuen Konzeptualismus, einer Bewegung der 1990er Jahre, wie Andreas Fogarasi, Ádám Kokesch, Tamás Komóroczky und das Künstlerkollektiv Little Warsaw. Die jüngste Generation der ungarischen Künstler/innen, geboren in den 1980er und 1990er Jahren, wie Sári Ember, Zsófia Kersztes, Klára Rudas und Gergő Szinyova, sind Teil des lokalen Dialogs und werfen ein neues Licht auf die aktuellen Tendenzen in der Abstraktion – sicherlich beeinflusst von der konzeptuellen Einbeziehung des globalen Diskurses.

Die Ausstellung „Abstract Hungary” berücksichtigt Malerei und Skulptur, aber auch Installationen, die Keramik, Photographie und Video integrieren. Als skulpturale und performative Intervention im öffentlichen Raum wird das Werk „Stage Monument” (2017) von Tamás Kászas – eine Referenz zu historischen Konzepten von Lajos Kassák – realisiert. Die Installation fungiert sowohl als Ort für Performances und Workshops als auch als Treffpunkt für Passant/innen des Stadtparks, die diesen öffentlichen Raum als ihre Bühne individuell nutzen können.

Die Ausstellung wird von einer Publikation und einem Rahmenprogramm begleitet.

29.06.2017, 18 Uhr
Ludwig Múzeum – Museum of Contemporary Art
1095 Budapest, Komor Marcell u. 1.
www.ludwigmuseum.hu
Gesprächsrunde mit Sári Ember, Dóra Maurer, István Nádler, Márton Nemes, Gergő Szinyova; Gabor Rieder (Moderation)
Einleitung: Sandro Droschl, Áron Fenyvesi

06.07.2017, 18 Uhr
Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien (KM– Graz)
Performance auf skulpturaler Bühne im Außenbereich
„Stage Monument“
Tamás Kaszás

Weitere Termine des Rahmen- und Vermittlungsprogramms siehe
www.km-k.at.

Real Hungary – Der Esterházy Kunstpreis
Eröffnung: 27.06.2017, 18 Uhr
Collegium Hungaricum Wien, Hollandstraße 4, 1020 Wien

Parallel zur Ausstellung „Abstract Hungary” zeigt das Collegium Hungaricum Wien die Ausstellung „Real Hungary”. Anhand aktueller Werke von Esterházy-Preisträger/innen der Jahre 2009–2015 dokumentiert sie die Tendenzen der ungarischen Realismus-Tradition in Referenz auf ausgewählte künstlerische Dialogpartner.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h