Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
De / En

06.12.2013 6pm
Opening

16.01.2013 6pm
Artist Talk with Johannes Schweiger

24.12.2013 –
01.01.2014
Closed

Accompanying the exhibition will be a publication created in cooperation with the Vienna fashion blogger Anne Feldkamp.

07 12 2013 — 23 01 2014

Johannes Schweiger

IMA SET IMA TEXT, INO BUTT

The Künstlerhaus KM–, Halle für Kunst & Medien is presenting “IMA SET IMA TEXT, INO BUTT” by Johannes Schweiger and, with this solo exhibition, will tie into the 2014 programme. In the KM– lower level, Johannes Schweiger (born 1973 in Schladming, lives in Vienna) is showing new works developed specifically for this exhibition space in a specially crafted display situation. Taking a serial- and hand-produced number of a selected small and delicate object—the button as a fashionable accessory—the artist assigns explorative questions according to textures, forms, and functional modes of modern semantics and to a principle of form between appearance and reality in precarious balance.

By isolating ceramic buttons from their utilisation context and showing them to be autonomous art objects, Schweiger provokes a momenteous swivel in the gaze: moving from a gaze that beholds a form for its own sake to one that sees it for its functionality, thus overlooking it altogether—in the process, the artist lends visiblity to this swivelling act itself. His interest in the life and work of Lucie Rie (1902–1995) played an essential role in the conceptualisation of the exhibition. Rie counted among the most influential figures of ceramic art (studio pottery) in the previous century, with the production of ceramic buttons having secured her existence after the outbreak of the Second World War when she fled Austria for London due to economic pressure. Schweiger’s interest in her exploration of the aesthetic tradition of the applied art in the first half of the twentieth century (Wiener Werkstätte) was instrumental in developing his exhibition.

How might functional modes of present-day visual culture, in their field of agency of highly manipulated media surfaces, still prove to be interpretable and discriminable in terms of their consumability amidst style and styling, content and form? How might an underscoring of the complex transitions and boundaries in the exchange relationship between fashion and art look, signalising the establishment of structural order in and despite constant and dynamic change? An endeavour to answer this and other important questions—while defining the flowing junction between these two worlds as a field of action for artistic interventions—could be a further, exigent, and fascinating motif of “IMA SET IMA TEXT, INO BUTT”.

Johannes Schweiger was co-operator at ____fabrics interseason until 2011 and has been co-responsible for exhibitions at various exhibition venues, including Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig, 3rd Berlin Biennale, Manifesta7, Institute of Visual Arts, Milwaukee, Kunstverein München, Munich, Kölnischer Kunstverein, Cologne, and the Grazer Kunstverein, Graz. Since 2012 Johannes Schweiger has been engaged with solo projects.

Exhibitions (Selection)
Textiles: Open Letter, Museum Abteiberg Mönchengladbach (2013)
Applications of Not, Nid, Tokyo (2013)
Reflecting Fashion, Art & Fashion since Modernism, MUMOK Museum Moderner Kunst, Vienna (2012)
In Former Times, Pøst, Los Angeles (2012)
Excavation, Schindler House / Kings Road, Los Angeles (2012)
Rock of Ages / The Celik Method, pro choice, Vienna (2012)
Wearing Skirts: The Staging of Clothes in Contemporary Photography, Museum der Moderne (MdM), Salzburg (2012)

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En

06.12.2013 18:00
Eröffnung

16.01.2014 18:00
Künstlergespräch mit Johannes Schweiger

24.12.2013 –
01.01.2014
Schließtage

Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation in Kooperation mit der Wiener Mode-Bloggerin Anne Feldkamp.

07 12 2013 — 23 01 2014

Johannes Schweiger

IMA SET IMA TEXT, INO BUTT

Das Künstlerhaus KM–, Halle für Kunst & Medien präsentiert „IMA SET IMA TEXT, INO BUTT“ von Johannes Schweiger und leitet mit dieser Einzelausstellung in das Jahresprogramm 2014 über. Im Untergeschoss des KM– zeigt Johannes Schweiger (geboren 1973 in Schladming, lebt in Wien) neue, eigens für diese Räume konzipierte Arbeiten in einer dafür speziell entwickelten Displaysituation. An ein ausgewählt schwierig kleines Objekt in einer seriell, von Hand produzierten Menge, dem modischen Accessoires des Knopfes, delegiert der Künstler Fragestellungen nach Texturen, Formen und Funktionsweisen einer modernistischen Semantik und eines Formprinzips zwischen Schein und Sein in prekärer Balance.

Indem er Keramikknöpfe aus dem Kontext ihrer Anwendung isoliert und autonom als Kunstobjekte zeigt, evoziert Schweiger einen folgenreichen Schwenk im Blick; von einem Blick, der eine Form um ihrer selbst willen ansieht zu einem, der sie um ihrer Funktion willen anschaut und sie daher gar nicht mehr sieht – dabei macht er diesen Schwenk auch selbst sichtbar. Die Beschäftigung mit Leben und Werk von Lucie Rie (1902–1995), einer der prägendsten Figuren der Keramikkunst (Studio Pottery) des vorangegangen Jahrhunderts, die bei Ausbruch des zweiten Weltkriegs nach ihrer Flucht aus Österreich in London aufgrund ökonomischen Drucks mit der Produktion von Keramikknöpfen ihre Existenz sicherte, spielte in der Vorbereitung der Ausstellung in ihrer Auseinandersetzung mit der ästhetischen Tradition der angewandten Künste der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts (Wiener Werkstätte) eine wesentliche Rolle.

Wie lassen sich Funktionsweisen heutiger visueller Kultur in ihrem Wirkungsfeld hochgradig manipulierter Medienoberflächen in ihrer Konsumierbarkeit zwischen Style und Styling, Content und Form noch deut- und unterscheidbar zeigen? Wie ein Herausstreichen der komplexen Übergänge und Grenzen im Austauschverhältnis von Mode und Kunst, welches in und trotz permanenter dynamischer Veränderung Aufbau struktureller Ordnung signalisiert aussehen? Der Versuch einer Beantwortung dieser und weiterer wichtiger Fragen und dabei die fließenden Schnittmengen dieser beider Welten als Aktionsfeld für künstlerische Intervention zu definieren, könnte ein weiteres, dringliches und spannendes Motiv von „IMA SET IMA TEXT, INO BUTT“ sein.

Johannes Schweiger war bis 2011 Co-Operator bei ____fabrics interseason und zeichnete für Ausstellungen u.a. in der Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig, bei der 3. Berlin Biennale und der Manifesta7, im Institute of Visual Arts Milwaukee, im Kunstverein München, im Kölnischen Kunstverein sowie im Grazer Kunstverein verantwortlich. Seit 2012 arbeitet Johannes Schweiger an Solo-Projekten.

Ausstellungen (Auswahl)
Textiles: Open Letter, Museum Abteiberg Mönchengladbach (2013)
Applications of Not, Nid, Tokio (2013)
Reflecting Fashion, Art & Fashion since Modernism, MUMOK Museum Moderner Kunst, Wien (2012)

In Former Times, Pøst, Los Angeles (2012)
Excavation, Schindler House / Kings Road, Los Angeles (2012)

Rock of Ages / The Celik Method, pro choice, Wien (2012)
Wearing Skirts - The Staging of Clothes in Contemporary Photography, MdM, Museum der Moderne, Salzburg (2012)

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h