Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
Journal
De / En

Opening & Performance:
29.06.2018, 6 pm

Curator: Jürgen Dehm

Thanks to: British Council

Events

30 06 2018, 12 noon
Talk Hannah Perry & Jürgen Dehm

19 07 2018, 6 p.m. Lecture
Paul Feigelfeld, Media Theorist, TBA21-Academy, London

09 08 2018, 6 p.m. Lecture
Andrea Schmidbauer, Director, Arnold Schwarzenegger Museum, Thal

30 06 2018 — 26 08 2018

Hannah Perry

Rage Fluids

In her first institutional solo exhibition, “Rage Fluids,” the British artist Hannah Perry deals with the treatment of coming to terms with pain and loss, but also with euphoria and ecstasy against the background of current forms of communication as well as the traditional view of gender roles.

Perry has developed a broad course built from new works, specifically produced for this exhibition: In the main exhibition hall, she presents an extensive, hovering installation, the reflecting foil cover of which is set into vibration by the bass from the speakers, turning it thus into a powerful counterpart. The apsis of the Künstlerhaus is also taken in a space-filling manner. Here, Perry’s recently finished 360°-film is shown. It offers the viewer an opportunity to dive into a space filled with hovering and floating parts of the bodies of different genders. The voice-over reflects on the altered states of the self, subsequent to a traumatic experience, the responses—such as sadness and rage—as well as the different coping strategies. Sentence- and word-fragments of the 360°-film can also be found in Perry’s print works, presented in a side room of the exhibition hall. On the aluminium panels, screen prints are overlaid with cut-outs from the image archives of the artist, and with quickly splattered traces of colour, hastily stuck on foils have been abruptly partially removed.

In the performance, choreographed by Perry⎯ in cooperation with dancers⎯ for the opening of the exhibition, the tension between attraction and rejection, between the subject and the masses, between a state of shock and rage is addressed once more.

“Rage Fluids” reflects on personal experiences in different media, particularly in relation to cliché-ridden views of masculinity. The works do not only communicate emotional reactions in their diverse intensities to the outside world, but they can furthermore induce them in the viewer. Especially the installation works in the exhibition do affect the body, and occasionally they go even beyond their impact on the sensory perception. Hannah Perry works on a thorough exploration of everyday challenges, between “real life” and the representations of impressions and emotions on the different channels directed to an outside world.

Hannah Perry (*1984 Chester) lives and works in London. She studied in London at Goldsmiths College (BA 2009) and at the Royal Academy Schools (graduated in 2014). Solo exhibitions i.a.: “Viruses Worth Spreading,” Arsenal Contemporary, New York (2017); “100 Problems,” CFA, Berlin (2016); “Mercury Retrograde,” Seventeen, London (2015); “You’re gonna be great,” Jeanine Hofland, Amsterdam (2015); “Hannah Perry,” Zabludowicz Collection, London (2012). Group exhibitions i.a.: “I feel we think bad,” Arsenal Contemporary, Montreal (2016); “Private Settings: Art After the Internet,” MOMA Warsaw (2014); “New Order II,” Saatchi Gallery, London (2014); “Stedelijk at Trouw: Contemporary Art Club – DATA,” Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (2013). Performances i.a. at the Serpentine Gallery, London (2014); Barbican Gallery, London (2013); V22, London (2012).

Videos and texts will be published during the duration of the exhibition in the KM–Online Journal: journal.km-k.at

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En

Eröffnung & Performance:
29.06.2018, 18 Uhr

Kurator: Jürgen Dehm

Dank an: British Council in Österreich

Veranstaltungen

30 06 2018, 12:00 Talk
Hannah Perry & Jürgen Dehm

19 07 2018, 18:00 Lecture
Paul Feigelfeld, Medientheoretiker, TBA21-Academy, London

30 06 2018 — 26 08 2018

Hannah Perry

Rage Fluids

In „Rage Fluids“, ihrer ersten institutionellen Einzelausstellung, setzt sich die britische Künstlerin Hannah Perry mit der Verarbeitung von Schmerz und Verlust, aber auch von Euphorie und Ekstase vor dem Hintergrund zeitaktueller Formen der Kommunikation und tradierter Geschlechtervorstellungen auseinander.

Perry hat für die Ausstellung einen umfangreichen Parcours aus Neuproduktionen entwickelt: In der zentralen Ausstellungshalle präsentiert sie eine raumgreifende, schwebende Installation, deren reflektierender Folienüberzug vom Bass der Lautsprecher in Vibration versetzt und so zum soundmächtigen Gegenüber wird. Raumfüllend eingenommen wird auch die Apsis im Künstlerhaus: In einem dort gezeigten, von Perry jüngst fertiggestellten 360°-Film können die Betrachterinnen und Betrachter zwischen schwebende und fließende Körperteile unterschiedlicher Geschlechter eintauchen. Das Voiceover reflektiert die Veränderungen des Selbst nach einer traumatischen Erfahrung, die Reaktionen darauf – wie Trauer und Wut – sowie unterschiedliche Bewältigungsstrategien. Satzteile und Wortfetzen aus dem 360°-Film finden sich in Perrys Druckarbeiten, gezeigt im Seitenraum der Ausstellungshalle, wieder. Auf den Aluminiumtafeln überlagern sich Siebdrucke mit Ausschnitten aus dem Bildarchiv der Künstlerin mit schnell hingeworfenen Farbspuren, rasch aufgeklebte Folien wurden teilweise ruckartig wieder entfernt.

In der für die Eröffnung der Ausstellung von Perry zusammen mit Tänzerinnen und Tänzern konzipierten Performance wird die Spannung von Anziehung und Abstoßung, von Subjekt und Masse, von Schockstarre und Zorn abermals aufgegriffen.

„Rage Fluids“ reflektiert persönliche Erfahrungen in unterschiedlichen Medien und setzt diese insbesondere zu klischeebehafteten Vorstellungen von Männlichkeit in Beziehung. Die Arbeiten tragen emotionale Reaktionen nicht nur in unterschiedlichen Intensitäten nach Außen, sondern erzeugen diese auch bei den Betrachterinnen und Betrachtern. Insbesondere die installativen Arbeiten in der Ausstellung greifen auf den Körper über, gehen mitunter über die Beeinflussung der sensorischen Wahrnehmung hinaus. Hannah Perry arbeitet sich ab an den alltäglichen Herausforderungen zwischen „echtem Leben“ und der Repräsentation von Eindrücken und Emotionen über die unterschiedlichen, nach Außen gerichteten Kanäle.

Hannah Perry (*1984 Chester) lebt und arbeitet in London. Sie studierte in London am Goldsmiths College (BA 2009) und an den Royal Academy Schools (Abschluss 2014). Einzelausstellungen u.a.: “Viruses Worth Spreading”, Arsenal Contemporary, New York (2017); “100 Problems”, CFA, Berlin (2016); “Mercury Retrograde”, Seventeen, London (2015); “You’re gonna be great”, Jeanine Hofland, Amsterdam (2015); “Hannah Perry”, Zabludowicz Collection, London (2012). Group exhibitions i.a.: “I feel we think bad”, Arsenal Contemporary, Montreal (2016); “Private Settings: Art After the Internet”, MOMA Warsaw (2014); “New Order II”, Saatchi Gallery, London (2014); “Stedelijk at Trouw: Contemporary Art Club – DATA”, Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam (2013). Performances u.a. in der Serpentine Gallery, London (2014); Barbican Gallery, London (2013); V22, London (2012).

Video- und Textbeiträge erscheinen während der Laufzeit der Ausstellung im KM–Online Journal: journal.km-k.at

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h