Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
Journal
De / En

13.03.2015 6pm
Opening

13.03.2015 11am
Press talk

On Fridays at 5pm a guided tour is offered

The exhibition is open on May 1 and May 14, 2015, 10am to 6pm

Free admission May 15, 6pm to May 17, in the frame of aktuelle kunst in graz

free shuttle service
in the frame of aktuelle kunst in graz
Vienna – Graz – Vienna, Friday May 15, 2015
Departure Vienna: 3pm, bus stop Opera, Bus 59a
Departure Graz: 11.30pm Kunsthaus Graz, Lendkai 1

Saturday 16.5., 11am, in the frame of the aktuellen kunst in graz-guided tours: tour with the art critic Christa Benzer

DIDING online publication

The exhibition will be accompanied by a comprehensive online publication with contributions by Jörg Albrecht, Armen Avanessian, Timothy Scott Barker, Jonathan Crary, Sandro Droschl, Denise Sumi and the artists.

An Art Day’s Night / supporting programme:
Every Thursday at 6pm, admission free (except on public holidays).

CMRK exhibitions
www.cmrk.org

03 14 2015 — 05 31 2015

DIDING

An Interior That Remains an Exterior?

Michele Abeles, Laura Aldridge, Trisha Baga, Alisa Baremboym, Anna Barham, Dora Budor, Lisa Holzer, Josh Kolbo, Julian Palacz, Charlotte Prodger, Sam Pulitzer et al., Jon Rafman, Sean Raspet, Hannah Sawtell, Jack Strange, Sergei Tcherepnin, Stewart Uoo, Jordan Wolfson

For the extensive exhibition "DIDING – An Interior That Remains an Exterior?" the Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien is bringing together eighteen international artists, many of whom are now being exhibited in Austria for the first time.

Against the background of various degrees of digital acceleration in present-day lifestyles and increasingly noticeable, latently growing political and economic tensions that in the process spill over to “things” (and people), the exhibition is seeking to present an up-to-date atmospheric picture. Digital material has long since advanced from a discrete breaking point in the 1990s to an evident state of affairs, and it not only intervenes in the present-day world of images but also in the surrounding materiality of things themselves. Although the works shown attest to a common interest in the digital, they are precisely not interested in rendering, in the sense of supposed progress, digitality as a media transfer from analogue to digital or technologies in relation to a reordering of images and their representation. The interest of the positions brought together here goes beyond the portrayal of the purely digital. The exhibition rather illustrates different structural features of the digital and its interaction with things. How do their physicality, temporality, and semantics manifest? In a rapidly changing world, objects and their referents are questioned anew in terms of their relation to reality.

A common feature of the positions brought together in the exhibition is the expression of the relationship between the digital and the analogue as well as between object and subject in relation to body and material. The essential component of temporality here is understood as a state that characterises an in-between: the exhibition proceeds from this synchronicity of the non-simultaneous in the production and representation of its “things”. The DI-gital THING becomes the circulating and difficult-to-grasp object. The art historian Kerstin Stakemaier speaks of a new subject-object relationship in which the objects become “the symptom of a ‘disconnectedness’ of the body in the present capitalist crisis.” In the exhibition "DIDING – An Interior That Remains an Exterior?" the curator Sandro Droschl has collected works that allude in particular to this precarious state of affairs and the increasingly pressurised concept of the object.

In the artworks the physicality of the digital is evident as particularly malleable and plays with dimensions, with recurring elements of the precarious, fluid, transparent and “flatness”. In his installation, Josh Kolbo shows the modulation of visual information, collaged, abstracted, and ultimately manifested in a process that is transferred from 2D to 3D. Here the three-dimensional remains as flat as the computer-programmed image world in Jon Rafman’s videos. The places that Rafman shows, meeting rooms, entrance halls, the dark net, the virtual and the real and their protagonists, point to the merging of bodies, with the digital material inscribing itself in physicality in various ways. As an oscillating vessel of a manifesting physical economy and its vibrating, exhausted bodies, the objects on show reveal themselves against dystopian techno-/science-fiction visions not as antagonists to human nature. Rather the traces of the digital in our bodies and in the things we have designed and used show themselves.

Alisa Baremboym’s amorphous sculptures integrate vinyl, latex tubes, polyester foil and seat-belt systems as everyday materials. The chemically insecure and fragile state of the molecules is typical of these laboratory-developed materials. Sean Raspet, too, uses amorphous materials from the environment that are characterised by the modulation from fluidity to solidity: steel, Plexiglas, hair gel. If these materials initially appear trivial, here their arrangement marks a deep-going relationship between the object and the subject, where here the non-human does not start beyond the body, but (de-)forms it in the form of chemical substances (as food, as clothing, as raw material or cosmetic product).

An Interior That Remains an Exterior? The fact that the differentiations between the analogue and the digital world have already been reified shows at the Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien, in particular in the aesthetic side and the approach of the artistic contributions.

Curated by Sandro Droschl

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En

13.03.2015 18:00
Eröffnung

13.03.2015 11:00
Pressegespräch

Jeden Freitag um 17:00 findet eine Führung statt.

Die Ausstellung ist am 1.5. und 14.5. von 10:00 bis 18:00 geöffnet

Samstag 16.5., 11:00 Uhr im Rahmen der aktuellen kunst in graz-Rundgänge: Führung mit Kritikerin Christa Benzer

Freier Eintritt von 15.5. 18:00 bis 17.5. im Rahmen von aktuelle kunst in graz

gratis Shuttle Service zur aktuellen kunst in Graz
Wien – Graz – Wien, Freitag 15.05.2015
Abfahrt Wien: 15.00, Haltestelle Oper, Bus 59a
Abfahrt Graz: 23.30, Kunsthaus Graz, Lendkai 1

DIDING Online-Publikation

Eine umfangreiche Online-Publikation mit Beitragen von Jörg Albrecht, Armen Avanessian, Timothy Scott Barker, Jonathan Crary, Sandro Droschl, Denise Sumi und den KünstlerInnen wird die Ausstellung begleiten.

An Art Day's Night / Rahmenprogramm:
Jeweils donnerstags um 18 Uhr bei freiem Eintritt (außer an Feiertagen).

CMRK Ausstellungen
www.cmrk.org

14 03 2015 — 31 05 2015

DIDING

Ein Innen, das ein Außen bleibt?

Michele Abeles, Laura Aldridge, Trisha Baga, Alisa Baremboym, Anna Barham, Dora Budor, Lisa Holzer, Josh Kolbo, Julian Palacz, Charlotte Prodger, Sam Pulitzer et al., Jon Rafman, Sean Raspet, Hannah Sawtell, Jack Strange, Sergei Tcherepnin, Stewart Uoo, Jordan Wolfson

Für die umfangreiche Ausstellung „DIDING – Ein Innen, das ein Außen bleibt?" vereint das Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien 18 wesentliche internationale KünstlerInnen, von denen viele erstmals in Österreich ausgestellt werden.

Vor dem Hintergrund unterschiedlicher Grade digitaler Beschleunigungen in heutigen Lebenswelten und zusehends spürbaren, latent anwachsenden politischen und ökonomischen Spannungen, die dabei auf die „Dinge“ (und Menschen) übergreifen, versucht sich die Ausstellung an einem aktuellen Stimmungsbild. Das digitale Material ist von einer diskreten Bruchstelle in den 1990er-Jahren längst zu einem evidenten Zustand fortgeschritten und greift nicht nur in gegenwärtige Bildwelten, sondern in die uns umgebende Materialität der „Dinge" an sich ein. Obwohl den gezeigten Arbeiten als Gemeinsames ein Interesse an dem Digitalen attestiert werden kann, sind sie gerade nicht daran interessiert, Digitalität im Sinne eines vermeintlichen Fortschritts als Medientransfer vom Analogen zum Digitalen oder Technologien in Bezug auf eine Neuordnung der Bilder und deren Repräsentation abzubilden. Das Interesse der hier vereinten Positionen geht über die Darstellung einer reinen Digitalität hinaus. Die Ausstellung beleuchtet vielmehr unterschiedliche Strukturmerkmale des Digitalen und dessen Wechselwirkung auf die „Dinge". Wie manifestiert sich deren Körperlichkeit, Zeitlichkeit und Semantik? In einer sich schnell verändernden Welt werden Objekte und ihre Referenten nach ihrem Wirklichkeitsbezug neu befragt.

Die in der Ausstellung versammelten Positionen artikulieren als Gemeinsames die Verhältnisse zwischen digital und analog sowie zwischen Objekt und Subjekt in Relation zu Körper und Material. Die hier wesentliche Komponente der Zeitlichkeit wird als ein Zustand verstanden, der ein Dazwischen-Sein charakterisiert: Die Ausstellung geht von dieser Gleichzeitigkeit des Ungleichzeitigen in der Produktion wie Repräsentation ihrer „Dinge“ aus. Das DI-gitale DING wird zum zirkulierenden und schwer fassbaren Objekt. Die Kunsthistorikerin Kerstin Stakemaier spricht von einem neuen Subjet-Objekt-Verhältnis, bei dem die Objekte „zum Symptom einer ‚disconnectedness’ des Körpers in der gegenwärtigen kapitalistischen Krise werden.“ In der Ausstellung „DIDING – Ein Innen, das ein Außen bleibt?" versammelt Kurator Sandro Droschl Werke, die im Besonderen auf diesen prekären Zustand und den damit verbunden zunehmend unter Druck stehenden Objektbegriff anspielen.

Die Körperlichkeit des Digitalen zeigt sich an den Kunstwerken als besonders formbar und spielt mit den Dimensionen, wobei Elemente des Prekären, Fluiden, Transparenten und der „Flatness“ wiederkehrend sind. Josh Kolbos in den Raum ausgreifendes Objekt zeigt die Modulation visueller Informationen, collagiert, abstrahiert und letztlich in einem von 2D in eine 3D-Halterung gesetzten Prozess manifestiert. Das Dreidimensionale bleibt dabei eben so flach wie die computer-programmierten Bildwelten in den Videos von Jon Rafman. Die Orte, die Rafman zeigt, Sitzungsräume, Eingangshallen, das Darknet, Virtuelles und Reales und deren Protagonisten verweisen auf die Verschmelzung der Körper, wobei sich das digitale Material auf unterschiedliche Art und Weise in die Körperlichkeit einschreibt. Als oszillierendes Gefäß einer manifest werdenden physikalischen Ökonomie und ihren vibrierenden, erschöpften Körpern offenbaren sich die ausgestellten Objekte entgegen dystopischer Techno-/Science-Fiction-Visionen nicht als Antagonist zur menschlichen Natur. Vielmehr zeigen sich die Spuren des Digitalen in unseren Körpern und in den von uns entworfenen und benutzten „Dingen".

Alisa Baremboyms amorphe Skulpturen integrieren Vinyl, Latexschläuche, Polyester-Folie und Schnallen-Gurt-Systeme als Materialien des alltäglichen Gebrauchs. Der chemisch unsichere und zerbrechliche Zustand der Moleküle ist für diese im Labor entwickelten Materialien bezeichnend. Auch Sean Raspet bedient sich amorphen Stoffen aus der Umwelt, die von der Modulation flüssig in hart gekennzeichnet sind: Stahl, Plexiglas, Haargel. Scheinen diese Stoffe zunächst trivial, kennzeichnen sie in ihrer Anordnung ein tiefgreifendes Verhältnis zwischen dem Objekt und dem Subjekt, wobei das Inhumane auch hier nicht jenseits des Körpers ansetzt, sondern diesen in Form von chemischen Mitteln (als Nahrungsmittel, als Kleidungsstück, als Werkstoff oder Kosmetikprodukt) (de-)formiert.

Ein Innen, das ein Außen bleibt? Dass sich inzwischen die Unterscheidungen zwischen analoger und digitaler Welt längst verdinglicht haben, zeigt sich im Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien im Speziellen in der ästhetischen Komponente und Herangehensweise der künstlerischen Beiträge.

Kuratiert von Sandro Droschl

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h