Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
Journal
De / En

Press talk:
28.06.2019, 10 am

Opening:
28.06.2019, 6 pm

Curator: Sandro Droschl

Catalogue available

Events

Thurs July 25, 6 p.m.
Bar Talk

Kinga Tóth (author and musician, Sárvár; Graz writer-in-residence)
Reading and performance, followed by Țuică at the Bar of Peles Empire

Thurs August 8, 3 p.m.
Ábstract Hungary

Sandro Droschl (exhibition curator, KM– Graz)
Curatorial tour

Thurs August 22, 6 p.m.
Art and Antagonism: Artists in theMaelstrom of Illiberal Cultural Politics

Michael Wimmer (political andcultural scientist, University ofApplied Arts, Vienna)
Lecture

Thurs September 5, 6 p.m.
Abstract Hungary

Ákos Ezer, Dávid Fehér, Áron Fenyvesi, Mónika Zsikla (artists, authors, Budapest)
Finissage, artists’ talk, and catalogue presentation

Every Saturday, 11 a.m.
Public tour, free of charge
Please send requests for additional information and special tours to Verena Borecký at vb@km-k.at
or 0316 74 0084

06 29 2019 — 09 05 2019

Ákos Ezer

Ábstract Hungary

In showing the work of Ákos Ezer, the Künstlerhaus as a venue for art and media (KM– Graz) is presenting a Hungarian artist of the younger generation who is thematically processing the present-day reality of his home country. The usual subjects of his paintings are human figures, frequently male, immersed in a precipitous state, either deliberately or in slapstick-like way. A new series of paintings shows gigantic portraits with oversized twisted necks. The fall and the bodily contortions become gestures of content in Ezer’s works, which tend to overtake the protagonists in everyday situations. With these bodies, seemingly distorted by strange movements, the artist powerfully speaks of the foundering, the clumsiness, and the fallibility of the individual and of society as a whole. The gaily colored and figurative compositions tap into an abstract language of form, while a touch of humor hones the rendering of the stumbling blocks of both private and public life.

Ákos Ezer, with his work, is positioned in the artistic tradition of narrative, ironically twisted “social realist” painting that not only bespeaks the impact of outside conditions on the individual. Also, the protagonists with their stoic dynamism—who are bendable and resistant despite all tumbles, yet still astonishingly tranquil and, as such, seemingly “strong”—illustrate the (naïve or perhaps realistic after all?) hope of “advancing” in life. Noticeable here, besides the form-related qualities of compo-sition, movement, and coloring, is the autonomy of painterly execution. The pictures are, plain and simple, “good”—and they fulfill, in their dandified stance, a masterly gaze sweeping painterly specialization. What is more, they do not deny knowledge of more recent art history, such as the moving history of the bracingly controversial concept of the “bad painting,” which is reminiscent of “portraits” by Guston, Kippenberger or Koether. The figurative composition of the images conceptualizes its way out of the abstraction that, in terms of its rigor of composition, form, and color, conditions the background or the basis of activity and thus serves to stabilize the richly appropriated bodies. It is through the stringency of a societal analysis that Ezer arrives at an act of abstraction with admirable clarity.

Ezer himself emphasizes the timelessness of issues related to painting. He takes a quite critical stance toward an all too sociopolitical reading of his work, including the linking of image and reality: “Although these constructed figures in the exhibition do not presently exist in real space, I try to interpret them through social space, in addition to the aesthetic and psychological aspects.”

Ezer trains his gaze on the “normal” people, their worries and travails, in order to accompany them through his paintings along a stretch of their everyday life and of their attempts to cope. Life in Hungary is not always easy, mostly due to the country’s eventful history in more recent times: fast-paced political changes followed the fall of the Iron Curtain in 1989 and the end of the Warsaw Pact. This resulted in an extensive transformation of the economic system, moving away from centrally controlled economy and toward a capitalist market economy.

Hungary’s membership in the European Union as of 2004 entailed not only political and thus democratic rapprochement; it also accelerated the pace of economic transformation, which was indeed economically successful despite widespread criticism. Alongside production-related know-how, an international financial power of unequal dimensions came face to face with an insufficiently competitive economic structure, which led to deep-seated change impacting all facets of society and cohabitation. As opposed to the communist doctrine of primacy of society over the individual which had prevailed for decades, now an emphasis was being placed on self-initiative and entrepreneurship, leading to a diametrical shift that further heightened pressure on the individual. Current developments, such as the establishment of an illiberal democracy, have started to curtail personal freedom once more.

The result of such slightly chaotic developments playing out on a continual basis vehemently impacts everyday life for the Hungarian population: in attempting to keep up with these events, an inordinate burden is placed on the individuals. Besides the many winners, there are also losers who tend to stagger through life rather than assuming an upright gait. But even for the “normal” citizens it is anything but easy to find one’s own straight path. Tumbling, but then standing up again in the hope of doing better in the future: this exhaustingly strange game cannot repeat forever. In the near future, surely little will change in everyday life, and the paintings of Ákos Ezer will long remain an abstracted allegory for today’s complex lifeworlds.

The seemingly timeless idea or “abstract” for a better future appears to be stronger than all hardship of the present and past. This propensity for abstracting complex social circumstances, the willingness to change, and a tenacity of analysis and representation distinguish the Hungarian art scene, especially its “abstract artists” from the 1960s to the present day. In 2017, the KM– showed appreciation for this scene by exhibiting 25 essential artistic positions in the cross-generational, dialogical exhibition "Abstract Hungary." A publication that extends both projects of the same name even further offers an abstracted view of Hungary.

Ákos Ezer (*1989 Pécs, lives in Toalmás and Budapest) studied painting at the Hungarian University of Fine Arts and is represented by Galerie Art + Text in Budapest. His work has been shown in various exhibitions, such as at Kiscell Museum (2018) and Museum Ludwig in Budapest, at the New Budapest Gallery (2017), at Tanja Pol (2018) in Munich, and at Beers Gallery (2017) in London. In 2017, he was granted the Esterházy Art Award. "Ábstract Hungary" is Ezer’s first solo exhibition at an art institution.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En

Pressegespräch:
28.06.2019, 10:00

Eröffnung:
28.06.2019, 18:00

Kurator: Sandro Droschl

Katalog erhältlich

Online Katalogbestellung


Termine

Do 25 07, 18:00
Bargespräch

Kinga Tóth (Autorin und Musikerin, Sárvár; Grazer Stadtschreiberin)
Lesung & Performance, anschließend Țuică
an der Bar von Peles Empire

Do 08.08., 15:00
Ábstract Hungary

Sandro Droschl (Kurator der Ausstellung, KM– Graz)
Kuratorische Führung

Do 22 08, 18:00
Kunst und Widerstreit – Künstler_innen im Sog einer illiberalen Kulturpolitik

Michael Wimmer (Politik- und Kultur wissenschafter, Universität für angewandte Kunst, Wien)
Vortrag

Do 05 09, 18:00
Abstract Hungary

Ákos Ezer, Dávid Fehér, Áron Fenyvesi, Mónika Zsikla (Künstler, Autor_innen,
Budapest)
Finissage, Künstlergespräch und Katalogpräsentation

Jeden Samstag, 11:00
kostenlose öffentliche Führung
Anfragen um nähere Auskünfte und spezielle
Führungen richten Sie bitte an Verena Borecký
unter vb@km-k.at oder 0316 74 0084.

29 06 2019 — 05 09 2019

Ákos Ezer

Ábstract Hungary

Mit Ákos Ezer präsentiert das Künstlerhaus als Halle für Kunst & Medien einen ungarischen Maler der jüngeren Generation, der sich thematisch nah an der Realität der Gegenwart seines Heimatlandes abarbeitet. Gegenstand seiner Malerei sind fortlaufend absichtsvoll oder slapstickhaft stürzende, zumeist männliche Figuren. Eine neue Bildserie zeigt zudem riesenhafte Portraits mit verdrehten, überdimensionalen Hälsen. Der Sturz und die körperliche Verrenkung werden zu inhaltlichen Gesten in Ezers Werken; diese ereilen die Protagonisten zumeist in Alltagssituationen. Mit seinen durch die eigenartigen Bewegungen entrückt wirkenden Körpern erzählt der Künstler kraftvoll vom Scheitern, dem Ungeschick und der Fehlbarkeit des Einzelnen und der Gesamtgesellschaft. Die farbenfrohen und figurativen Kompositionen bedienen sich einer abstrakten Formensprache, während eine Prise Humor das Abbild der Stolpersteine des privaten wie auch öffentlichen Lebens verfeinert.

Mit seiner Arbeit steht Ákos Ezer in der künstlerischen Tradition einer narrativen, ironisch gebrochenen „sozial-realistischen“ Malerei, die nicht nur den Einbruch der äußeren Verhältnisse auf den Einzelnen erkennen lässt. Vielmehr verdeutlichen die, trotz aller Stürze und Verrenkungen biegsamen und widerständigen, dabei in sich erstaunlich genügsam ruhenden und darin „stark“ wirkenden Protagonist_innen in ihrer stoischen Dynamik die (naive oder doch realistische?) Hoffnung auf ein „Vorwärts“ im Leben. Neben formalen Qualitäten in der Komposition, Bewegung und Farbgebung fällt die Eigenständigkeit der malerischen Ausführung auf, die Bilder sind schlichtweg „gut“ gemacht und erfüllen in ihrer dandyhaften Haltung ein gekonntes Schielen auf malerisches Spezialistentum, auch verleugnen sie nicht eine Kenntnis der jüngeren Kunsthistorie wie die bewegte Geschichte um den anregend umstrittenen Begriff des „Bad Painting“, womit auch an „Portraits“ von Guston, Kippenberger oder Koether erinnert sei. Der figurative Aufbau der Bilder denkt sich dabei aus der Abstraktion heraus, die in ihrer Stringenz in Aufbau, Form und Farbe den Hintergrund bzw. die Basis des Geschehens aufbereiten und ihren reichlich beanspruchten Körpern dadurch Halt geben. Im Sinne einer gesellschaftlichen Analyse kommt bei Ezer eine Abstraktionsleistung hinzu, vor deren Klarheit es den Hut zu ziehen gilt.

Ezer selbst betont die Zeitlosigkeit von malerischen Fragestellungen und steht einer allzu sozial-politischen Lesart im Sinne einer Kopplung von Bild und Realität durchaus kritisch gegenüber: „Obwohl diese konstruierten Figuren in der Ausstellung nicht aktuell und im realen Raum existieren, versuche ich diese neben ästhetischen und psychologischen Gesichtspunkten auch durch den sozialen Raum zu interpretieren.“

Ezer nimmt die „normalen“ Leute, ihre Sorgen und Mühen in den Blick, um sie durch seine Gemälde in ihrem Alltag – und im Versuch, diesen zu meistern – etwas zu begleiten. Aufgrund der jüngeren wechselvollen Geschichte des Landes wird das Leben in Ungarn oft als kein einfaches empfunden. Durch den Fall des Eisernen Vorhangs 1989 und das Ende des Warschauer Pakts kam es zu rasanten politischen Veränderungen. Eine umfangreiche Transformation von einer zentralisierten Planwirtschaft zu einer kapitalistischen Marktwirtschaft war die Folge.

Durch die Mitgliedschaft Ungarns ab 2004 in der Europäischen Union kam es nicht nur zu einer politischen und damit demokratischen Annäherung, vielmehr verstärkte sich das Tempo der trotz aller Kritik volkswirtschaftlich durchaus erfolgreichen ökonomischen Transformation. Neben dem produktionsbezogenen Know-How traf eine ungleich höhere, internationale Finanzkraft auf eine unzureichend wettbewerbsfähige Wirtschaftsstruktur, was zu einer tiefgreifenden Veränderung führte, die weite Teile der Gesellschaft und ihres Zusammenlebens in Mitleidenschaft zog. Entgegen der über Jahrzehnte herrschenden kommunistischen Doktrin des Primats der Gesellschaft über das Individuum kam es in der Betonung auf Eigeninitiative und Unternehmertum zu einer diametralen Umkehrung, die den Druck auf den Einzelnen weiter erhöhte. Aktuelle Entwicklungen hin zur Etablierung einer illiberalen Demokratie schränken die persönlichen Freiheiten wieder ein.

Das Ergebnis all dieser fortlaufenden, unübersichtlichen Entwicklungen schlägt sich mit Vehemenz auf das alltägliche Leben der ungarischen Bevölkerung nieder: Im Versuch mit den Ereignissen Schritt zu halten ist der Einzelne ungleich mehr gefordert. Neben vielen Gewinnern gibt es auch Verlierer, die eher durch das Leben taumeln als einem aufrechten Gang folgen. Aber auch für den „kleinen Mann“ ist es alles andere als einfach, seinen eigenen, geraden Weg zu finden. Stürzen, um wieder aufzustehen, in der Hoffnung es zukünftig besser zu machen: Dieses erschöpfend eigenartige Spiel wird sich nicht endlos wiederholen lassen. Im Alltag wird sich in absehbarer Zeit vermutlich wenig ändern und die Gemälde von Ákos Ezer bleiben wohl noch länger ein abstrahiertes Sinnbild für heutige komplexe Lebenswelten.

Die zeitlos wirkende Idee bzw. das „Abstract“ für eine bessere Zukunft scheint stärker als alle Mühsal der Gegenwart und Vergangenheit. Dieser Hang zur Abstraktion komplexer sozialer Gegebenheiten, der Wille zur Veränderung und die Zähigkeit in der Analyse und Darstellung zeichnet die ungarische Kunstszene und im Besonderen seine „Abstrakten“ seit den 1960er Jahren bis heute aus, die das KM– 2017 anhand 25 wesentlicher Positionen in der generationenübergreifenden, dialogischen Ausstellung „Abstract Hungary“ gewürdigt hat. Eine beide gleichnámigen Projekte erweiternde Publikation bietet einen abstrahierten Blick auf Ungarn.

Ákos Ezer (*1989 Pécs, lebt in Toalmás und Budapest) hat an der Ungarischen Universität der Bildenden Künste Malerei studiert und wird durch die Budapester Galerie Art + Text vertreten. Seine Werke waren in zahlreichen Ausstellungen zu sehen, u.a. am Kiscell Museum (2018) und dem Museum Ludwig in Budapest, in der New Budapest Gallery (2017), bei Tanja Pol (2018) in München und Beers Gallery (2017) in London. 2017 wurde er mit dem Esterházy Art Award ausgezeichnet. „Ábstract Hungary“ ist Ezers erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h