Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
Journal
De / En

Admission is free, no registration required.

04 06 2019  6 p.m.

NO (Wave)? Anger and Negative Emotions in Music

Convo Club #3 Kristina Pia Hofer, Christina Lessiak
Christina Lessiak, Kristina Pia Hofer
(c) privat, Dimitris Zagoudis

Music enables in different genres to express anger, aggression and other negative emotions in varying intensity. For one thing, music can be used as a form of expression, at the same time it can be a vehicle through which one can reveal and process one’s emotions. For some musicians, the presentation of all kinds of emotions is a way of artistic expression and a crucial part of their performance. In our third edition of "Convo Club" we will talk to media theorist Kristina Pia Hofer and musicologist Christina Lessiak about anger and aggression as a genre transcending musical phenomenon, where both will also draw from their own artistic practice.

Mag. Dr. Kristina Pia Hofer, M.A. (1979 Linz, lives in Vienna) is a media theorist and teaches at the department of media theory and cross-disciplinary strategies at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. Currently she carries out her research on material theories of the audio visual, amateur/DIY-media practices and affective potentials of queer-feminist collaborations.
Christina Lessiak, M.A. (
1988 Klagenfurt, lives in Graz) studied musicology and interdisciplinary gender studies in Graz and completed an apprenticeship for event engineering. Since then, she has been working in culture. At the moment she is a musician in pop bands (Crush, maneki nekoč, Circle A), conducts workshops and works as a university assistant at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Graz.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En

Eintritt frei, keine Anmeldung erforderlich.

06 04 2019  18:00

NO (Wave)? Wut und negative Emotionen in der Musik

Convo Club #3 Kristina Pia Hofer, Christina Lessiak
Christina Lessiak, Kristina Pia Hofer
(c) privat, Dimitris Zagoudis

Musik ermöglicht je nach Genre den Ausdruck von Wut, Aggression und anderen negativen Emotionen in unterschiedlicher Intensität. Einerseits kann Musik dabei als Form der Meinungsäußerung und des Protests, andererseits als Vehikel zum Ausdruck und zur Verarbeitung von Emotionen genutzt werden. Die Darbietung von Emotionen aller Art wird für manche Musiker_innen zu künstlerischer Inszenierung und integralem Teil ihrer Performance. Mit der Medientheoretikerin Kristina Pia Hofer und der Musikologin Christina Lessiak sprechen wir in der dritten Ausgabe von „Convo Club“ über Wut und Aggression als genreübergreifendes musikalisches Phänomen, wobei beide aus ihrer eigenen künstlerischen Praxis berichten werden.

Mag. Dr. Kristina Pia Hofer, M.A. (1979 Linz, lebt in Wien) ist Medientheoretikerin und unterrichtet an den Abteilungen für Medientheorie und Cross-Disciplinary Strategies der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien. Derzeit forscht sie hauptsächlich zu materiellen Theorien des Audiovisuellen, Amateur/DIY-Medienpraktiken und den affektiven Potentialen von queer-feministischen Kollaborationen.
Christina Lessiak, M.A. (
1988 Klagenfurt, lebt in Graz) studierte Musikologie und interdisziplinäre Geschlechterstudien in Graz und schloss die Lehre als Veranstaltungstechnikerin ab. Seitdem arbeitet sie als Kulturschaffende. Zurzeit ist sie Musikerin in Pop-Bands (Crush, maneki nekoč, Circle A), Workshopleiterin und Universitätsassistentin an der Kunstuniversität Graz.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h