Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
De / En

12.06.2015 9am
Press talk

12.06.2015 8pm
Opening

Media partnership: der Standard

CMRK Openings
6pm Grazer Kunstverein
7pm < rotor >
8pm Künstlerhaus KM–

CMRK Summer party starting at 9pm
Concert open air: Dubais

All exhibitions are open on June 12, 2015 from 6pm to 9pm.

Shuttle service
€ 5,– one direction

Departure Vienna
12.06.2015, 3pm
Bus stop Oper, bus 59a

Departure Graz
12.06.2015, 11:30pm
Künstlerhaus KM–

The exhibition is framed by a comprehensive supporting program on Thursdays and by a publication with an essay of professor and author T'ai Smith.

13 06 2015 — 10 09 2015

wow! Woven? Entering the (sub)Textiles

Anna-Sophie Berger, Heidi Bucher, Merlin Carpenter, Ines Doujak / John Barker, Manfred Erjautz, Rubén Grilo, Sheila Hicks, Ann Cathrin November Høibo, Helena Huneke, Hannah James, Marie Lund, Christian Mayer, Lisa Oppenheim, Judith Raum, Sascha Reichstein, Amanda Ross-Ho, Yorgos Sapountzis, Constanze Schweiger, Johannes Schweiger, Ingrid Wiener

With "wow! Woven? Entering the (sub)Textiles," the Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien is presenting an exhibition that encompasses two of the venue’s levels. It is devoted to the diverse issues related to the position of “textiles” as medium and material in the exploration of contemporary art practices in this present age teeming with networking metaphors.

From the very beginning in nearly all cultures and with usage impacting society, textiles have been veritably predestined for being charged with political content, and for use and consideration even outside of artisan contexts and the related negotiability on an artistic level. In the recent past, numerous large and comprehensive exhibitions have carried out exacting surveys on the general familiarity of the textile, on its sensory qualities, its uniquely inscribed features, and its wealth of weaving types, textures, and works developed globally over the centuries. Such projects have contributed to a renaissance and re-evaluation of textiles and emphasised their natural tendency to challenge the classically hierarchical concepts of work, image, and object. "wow! Woven? Entering the (sub) Textiles" accentuates its exhibition focus by concentrating on works that foster aspects of an artistically investigative exploration of history, including the role of the textile industry within the capitalist form of commodity production and the means of organising production methods.

Exhibition participant Rubén Grilo, for example, emphasises with a series of denim fabric works the onset of industrialisation as a turning point in our relationship with technologies. Once synonymous with a durable fabric for the working class and later symbolic of the Western individualist promise of freedom, today the visible wear and tear of jeans is designed through digital processes and implemented using laser irradiation before even hitting the market. This act allows the factors previously specific to strong work-, body-, and time-related wear to degenerate through mere simulation and thus highlights the changing body-work relations. The artist Sascha Reichstein, in turn, presents a large installative video work “The Production of Tradition” focused on the outsourced production of traditional clothing by example of lederhosen in Sri Lanka. She for instance explores the dissolution of formerly prevalent workmanship forms aligned to local conditions and the concomitant loss of traditional artisan techniques, regional distinctions, and the ability to identifying goods with specific locales.

The far-reaching history of the precarious working conditions within the textile industry, still unchanged today, and of the revolutionary potential of the textile workers in countering such abuse are thematised by
Judith Raum. Presented in the exhibition, her research project “disestablish” takes the first weavers’ uprisings in fourteenth-century northern Italy as its point of departure and shows the textile to be a carrier material of social conflicts, with the artist using banners made of textile material to make this point.

The collaboration of Ines Doujak and John Barker in the form of the longstanding and still ongoing research project “LOOMSHUTTLES/WARPATHS” likewise examines the complex relations among fabric, clothing, and colonialism starting with the early forms of global capitalism. On the evening of the exhibition opening, shirts from the artists’ Haute Couture collection accompanying the project will be presented for sale as part of their exhibition presence. The shirts themselves represent a visualization of the the tight job-order calculations at the expense of safety precautions for the sewers employed at the textile mills.

Against this content-focused backdrop of the presented works, which particularly reflects on processes of production, "wow! Woven? Entering the (sub)Textiles" compiles a further variety of selected artworks that present a reflexive spectrum of textile use ranging between tangible material, meaning-laden medium, technique, and idea. The works of art thus embody the general fragility of the material, attempt mediatic translations, and confirm their enduring fascination, including extraordinary positions by Heidi Bucher, Sheila Hicks, Helena Huneke, and Ingrid Wiener.

Curated by Christian Egger

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En

12.06.2015 09:00
Pressegespräch

12.06.2015 20:00
Eröffnung

Medienpartner: der Standard

CMRK Eröffnungen
18:00 Grazer Kunstverein
19:00 < rotor >
20:00 Künstlerhaus KM–

CMRK-Sommerparty ab 21:00
Konzert Open Air: Dubais

Alle Ausstellungen sind am 12.06.2015 von 18:00 bis 21:00 geöffnet

Shuttle Service
€ 5,– eine Richtung

Abfahrt Wien
12.06.2015, 15:00
Haltestelle Oper, Bus 59a

Abfahrt Graz
12.06.2015, 23:30
Künstlerhaus KM–

Die Ausstellung begleitet zudem ein umfangreiches donnerstägliches vermittelndes Veranstaltungsprogramm sowie eine Publikation mit einem Essay der Professorin und Autorin T’ai Smith.

13 06 2015 — 10 09 2015

wow! Woven? Entering the (sub)Textiles

Anna-Sophie Berger, Heidi Bucher, Merlin Carpenter, Ines Doujak / John Barker, Manfred Erjautz, Rubén Grilo, Sheila Hicks, Ann Cathrin November Høibo, Helena Huneke, Hannah James, Marie Lund, Christian Mayer, Lisa Oppenheim, Judith Raum, Sascha Reichstein, Amanda Ross-Ho, Yorgos Sapountzis, Constanze Schweiger, Johannes Schweiger, Ingrid Wiener

Das Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien präsentiert mit „wow! Woven? Entering the (sub)Textiles" eine Ausstellung über zwei Ebenen des Hauses, die sich den vielfältigen Fragen widmet, die „Textilien“ als Medium und Material in einer an Vernetzungsmetaphern reichen Gegenwart in der Auseinandersetzung zeitgenössischer Kunstpraxen einnehmen.

Seit jeher in nahezu allen Kulturen in gesellschaftsprägender Verwendung scheint das Textile geradezu prädestiniert für inhaltliche politische Aufladung, Verwendung und Betrachtung auch außerhalb handwerklicher Kontexte und dessen Verhandelbarkeit auf einer künstlerischen Ebene. Präzise Befragungen hinsichtlich seiner allgemeinen Vertrautheit, seiner sinnlichen Qualität, seiner ihm primär eingeschriebenen Merkmale und seines über Jahrtausende global entwickelten Reichtums an Webarten, Texturen und Arbeiten unternahmen in jüngerer Vergangenheit zahlreiche große und umfassende Ausstellungsprojekte, die zu einer Renaissance und einer Neubewertung des Textilen beitrugen und seine die klassisch-hierarchische Werk-, Bild- und Objektbegriffe hinterfragende Qualität betonen konnten. „wow! Woven? Entering the (sub)Textiles" akzentuiert den Ausstellungsfokus schwerpunktmäßig auf Arbeiten, die Aspekte künstlerisch investigativer Auseinandersetzungen mit der Geschichte und Rolle der Textilindustrie innerhalb einer kapitalistischen Form der Warenproduktion und der Art der Organisation der Produktionsweisen dabei anführen.

Ausstellungsteilnehmer Rubén Grilo etwa kehrt anhand einer Reihe von Denim-Stoff-Arbeiten den Beginn der Industrialisierung als einen Wendepunkt unserer Beziehung mit Technologien hervor: Einst Synonym für einen strapazierfähigen Stoff der arbeitenden Klasse und später Symbol westlich individueller Freiheitsversprechen werden heutzutage Abnutzungserscheinungen der Jeans in digitalen Prozessen designt und durch Laserbestrahlung vorgenommen, noch ehe sie in den Handel gelangen. Ein Akt, welcher die eine Jeans vormals spezifisch abnützende Faktoren wie Arbeit, Körper und Zeit zur bloßen Simulation verkommen lässt und damit veränderte Körper-Arbeit-Verhältnisse verdeutlicht. Die Künstlerin Sascha Reichstein wiederum untersucht in ihrer großen installativen Video-Arbeit „The Production of Tradition" anhand der ausgesourcten Herstellung traditioneller Bekleidung am Beispiel der Trachten-Lederhose in Sri Lanka unter anderem die Auflösung einstiger örtlichen Entsprechungen folgende Formen der Verarbeitung und dem vorausgehenden Verlust traditioneller Handwerkstechniken, regionaler Unterscheidbarkeit sowie Möglichkeit lokaler Zuordnung.

Die weitreichende Geschichte der bis heute unverändert prekären Arbeitsverhältnisse innerhalb der Textilindustrie und des revolutionären Potenzials der Textil-Arbeiter_innen gegen diese Missstände thematisiert Judith Raum in ihrer in der Ausstellung vertretenen Recherche-Arbeit „disestablish", welche erste Weber_innen-Aufstände des 14. Jahrhunderts in Norditalien zum Ausgang nimmt und das Textile als Trägermaterial sozialer Konflikte zeigt, wobei im Aufzeigen dieser wieder auf Banner aus Textil zurückgegriffen wird.

Auch die Zusammenarbeit in Form des langfristigen und fortwährenden Recherche-Projekts „LOOMSHUTTLES/WARPATHS" von Ines Doujak und John Barker untersucht ausgehend von Frühformen des globalen Kapitalismus die komplexen Verhältnisse von Stoff, Bekleidung und Kolonialismus. Als Teil dieses werden die Künstler_innen am Eröffnungsabend zudem Hemden aus ihrer das Projekt begleitenden Haute Couture-Kollektion zum Verkauf darbieten. Auf diesen wird die knappe Auftragskalkulation auf Kosten der Sicherheitsvorkehrungen der in den Textilfabriken arbeitenden Näher_innen am Beispiel eines Kleidungsstückes selbst visualisiert.

Vor diesem inhaltlichen, im Besonderen die Produktionsprozesse reflektierenden Hintergrund der angeführten Arbeiten versammelt „wow! Woven? Entering the (sub) Textiles" eine Vielzahl weiterer ausgewählter Arbeiten, die eine reflexive Spannbreite der Verwendung des Textilen zwischen greifbarem Material, bedeutungstragendem Medium, Technik und Idee aufführen, die die generelle Fragilität des Materials
vergegenwärtigen, mediale Übersetzungen wagen und ihre anhaltende Faszination belegen. Darunter befinden sich so außerordentliche Positionen wie Heidi Bucher, Sheila Hicks, Helena Huneke und Ingrid Wiener.

Kuratiert von Christian Egger

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h