Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
Journal
De / En

Press talk:
04.05.2018, 11 a.m.

Opening:
04.05.2018, 6:30 p.m.

Curator: Sandro Droschl

in the frame of aktuelle kunst in graz

during Galerientage 04.05. – 06.05. free admission

Free Shuttle Service 04.05.2018
Departure Vienna: 3 p.m., Opernring 1, bus stop 59, 1010 Vienna
Departure Graz: 11 p.m., Burgring
Reservation: info@galerientage-graz.at

Supporting Program "An Art Day's Night"

24.05.2018, 6 p.m. Talk
Maruša Sagadin / Marlies Wirth (MAK Vienna)

14.06.2018, 6 p.m. Talk
Tymek Borowski / Sandro Droschl

21.06.2018, 6 p.m. DJ Sets
Juliana Lindenhofer / dj guy the guy

Reader
The only performances that make it all the way... Yes, but is it performable?

05 05 2018 — 21 06 2018

Tschumi Alumni.

How art works? How culture works?

Tymek Borowski, Maruša Sagadin

We live in confusing and certainly complex times. In a common Europe so important for both countries, Poland and Austria are linked by a rich cultural life that draws on a specific and in part similar historical awareness and a tradition-based picture of the world that is built on that. How do are and culture work? What is the zeitgeist supposed to be? What contribution do the persons addressed by it make, which subjects are we talking about? And finally: How can an art and cultural institution convey these values and ambitions in the spirit of a productive exchange and good neighborliness? The artists Tymek Borowski and Maruša Sagadin offer several pointed answers to these questions.

The exhibition “Tschumi Alumni: How art works? How culture works?” is dedicated to the question of the combination and productive exchange of art and culture and possible options for their effect on the individual and society. In their works the artists Tymek Borowski (b. 1984 in Warsaw and lives in Warsaw) and Maruša Sagadin (b. 1978 in Ljubljana and lives in Vienna) reflect and question critically processes related to the exchange of information and data as well as traditional cultural relationships. Whereas Borowski’s artistic roots are in painting, in his more recent works he has increasingly dedicated himself to digital formats as such video and animation. Sagadin, who works primarily with sculpture, refers to architecture in her works and questions its function and role in today’s society.

The works of Tymek Borowski are a kind practical set of instructions explaining how culture and art are to be “employed,” how one can understand them better—with a pragmatic goal of living “better.” The simple metaphors used in the videos “How Art Works?” and “How Culture Works?” have the task of defining and revealing the mechanisms of the phenomena art and culture. The works on show here, whose making was preceded by solid research, revolve around themes that particularly preoccupy their authors, such as the meaning of producing contemporary art and integrating it into the context of other activities. The conclusions resulting from the works are, however, more universal. The aesthetic of these works and the radical method of simplifying the events described are the mirror image of the omnipresent trend to the optimization of all activities and processes. Borowski transitions fluidly from humorous optimism to devastating self-irony, as in the multi-part homonymous image “How Art Works?” in which he exposes his own strategy for giving the impression that he is a good artist.

In his most recent works Borowski, addresses the question of how digital information and data can be depicted visually in an “analog” way. This tendency is already evident in the portrait paintings seen in the exhibition. The artist does not produce a precise likeness of his models, which are often passed on famous celebrities, but rather defamiliarizes them powerfully—what remains is an abstract idea of what characterizes people and subjects and how they reveal themselves (or allow themselves to be revealed) in society.

Maruša Sagadin is showing a series of objects titled Tschumi Alumni based on architectonic forms—for example, window openings that look like fists punching the wall but that function in this context as the legs of sculptures. Nearly identical rectangular forms are stretched over them. The line between the basis (leg), which is an object unto itself, and the life-size sculpture—much like the leg to the body, the individual to society, or architecture to the city—is blurry and unclear. The geometrically formed surfaces are polished to a shine and look almost like freely hanging pictures. Their color palette recalls the Washington Color School, Austrian Lilien porcelain, “political” colors, and pop culture. The selection of simple materials, such as concrete, polystyrene, and plywood of the sort found in a hardware store, herald the artist’s interest in everything that seems deceptive and strange. In her works Sagadin also refers to traditional architectural forms, such as the Dorian column or caryatids, and translates them into a postmodern, feminist context.

The artist arranges the sculptures, which are at the same time figures, in combination with the columns of the exhibition space. It seems almost as if the group of objects—as a kind of counterpart—were entering into a dialogue with the other sculptures and the specific architecture of the space. The sculptures seem to depict a group of people and are a metaphor for a person or marginalized group that is planted into the social skeleton of a city and its infrastructure. A city in which the main focus is on pleasure, consumption, work, and a cult of the body.

In the outdoor area of the Künstlerhaus—and hence in the public space of the municipal part of Graz—Sagadin has placed an oversized bench and as such usable sculpture. On the upper side of the colorfully painted sculpture “DORIS” are props such as lipstick and platform shoes, between which the passersby can sit and rest from the bustle of busy everyday life and calmly look around and perhaps talk to one another.

Tymek Borowski studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Warsaw and works as a painter, screenwriter, and infographic artist. He has been a cofounder of several art collectives and galleries such as the online project Billy Gallery and the Czosnek Studio for Experimental Design. He has received the VIEWS Deutsche Bank Foundation Audience Award (2013) and the Polityka Pass Award (2016).
Current exhibitions: "Love, Memory, Curiosity" at Geological Museum Warsaw; "Collection #3: Part 2," Chamber Gallery, New York; "Common Affairs," Deutsche Bank KunstHalle, Berlin; "Warsaw Under Construction 7: Reconstruction Dispute," MoMA, Warsaw; "Progress and Hygiene," Zachęta National Gallery of Art, Warsaw (in cooperation with Pawel Śliwiński) and "As You Can See. Polish Art Today," MoMA, Warsaw.

Maruša Sagadin graduated with a degree in architecture from the Technical University of Graz before switching to the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna and studying sculpture. In addition to some awards, she has completed a one-year ISCP Residence in New York in 2016 and was granted a MAK Schindler House research scholarship in 2009–10.
Her works were recently shown at New Art Dealers Alliance (NADA) New York, Christine König Galerie in Vienna, SPACE in London, Syndicate in Cologne, at the Austrian Cultural Forums of New York and London, at Kunsthalle Wien, at Room of Requirement of Horse & Pony Fine Arts Berlin and at MSU Museum of Contemporary Art in Ljubljana. In 2016 Maruša Sagadins published the award winning monographic catalogue © MMXV (Verlag für Moderne Kunst) in collaboration with Christian Hoffelner (Schönste Bücher Österreichs 2016).

“Tschumi Alumni. How art works? How culture works?” has been shown previously at the Austrian Cultural Forum in Warsaw / Austriackie Forum Kultury (November 20, 2017–January 19, 2018) and is now being presented in expanded form at the Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien in Graz. The exhibition is accompanied by a supporting program and by essays on the online platform of the KM–Journal (journal.km-k.at).

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En

Pressegespräch:
04.05.2018, 11 Uhr

Eröffnung:
04.05.2018, 18:30 Uhr

Kurator: Sandro Droschl

im Rahmen von aktuelle kunst in graz

während der Galerientage vom 04.05. bis 06.05. ist der Eintritt in die Ausstellung frei.

Gratis Shuttle Service 04.05.2018
Abfahrt Wien: 15:00, Opernring 1, Bushaltestelle 59, 1010 Wien
Abfahrt Graz: 23:00, Burgring
Reservierungen bitte unter: info@galerientage-graz.at

Rahmenprogramm "An Art Day's Night"

24.05.2018, 18 Uhr Talk
Maruša Sagadin / Marlies Wirth (MAK Wien)

14.06.2018, 18 Uhr Talk
Tymek Borowski / Sandro Droschl

21.06.2018, 18 Uhr DJ Sets
Juliana Lindenhofer / dj guy the guy

Reader
The only performances that make it all the way... Yes, but is it performable?

05 05 2018 — 21 06 2018

Tschumi Alumni

How art works? How culture works?

Tymek Borowski, Maruša Sagadin

Wir leben in unübersichtlichen und durchaus komplexen Zeiten. In einem für beide Länder so wichtigen gemeinsamen Europa verbinden Polen und Österreich ein reiches kulturelles Leben, das sich aus einem spezifischen und teils ähnlichen historischen Bewusstsein und einem darauf aufbauenden traditionsorientierten Weltbild speist. Wie funktionieren darin Kunst und Kultur? Was soll Zeitgeist sein? Wie bringen sich die davon angesprochenen Personen ein, von welchen Personen sprechen wir? Und schließlich: Wie kann ein Kunst- und Kulturinstitut diese Werte und Ansprüche im Sinne eines produktiven Austauschs und guter Nachbarschaft vermitteln? Darauf geben die Künstler_innen Tymek Borowski und Maruša Sagadin einige pointierte Antworten.

Die Ausstellung „Tschumi Alumni. How art works? How culture works?“ widmet sich der Frage nach der Verbindung und dem produktiven Austausch von Kunst und Kultur und möglichen Optionen ihrer Wirkung auf Individuum und Gesellschaft. Die Künstler_innen Tymek Borowski (1984 Warschau, lebt in Warschau) und Maruša Sagadin (1978 Ljubljana, lebt in Wien) reflektieren und hinterfragen in ihren Arbeiten auf kritische Weise Prozesse, die mit Informations- und Datenaustausch sowie tradierten kulturellen Verhältnissen zu tun haben. Während Borowskis künstlerische Wurzeln in der Malerei liegen, widmet er sich in seinen jüngeren Arbeiten zunehmend digitalen Formaten wie Video und Animation. Sagadin, die vorwiegend skulptural arbeitet, bezieht sich in ihren Arbeiten auf die Architektur und hinterfragt ihre Funktion und Rolle in der gegenwärtigen Gesellschaft.

Die Arbeiten von Tymek Borowski sind eine Art praktische Anleitung, die erklären, wie Kultur und Kunst zu „gebrauchen“ sind, wie man sie besser verstehen kann – mit einem pragmatischen Ziel, um „besser“ zu leben. Die in den Videos „How Art Works?“ oder „How Culture Works?“ verwendeten einfachen Metaphern haben die Aufgabe den Mechanismus der Phänomene Kunst und Kultur zu definieren und aufzuzeigen. Die hier gezeigten Arbeiten, deren Entstehen eine solide Recherche vorausging, kreisen um Themen, die den Autor besonders beschäftigen, wie der Sinn des Produzierens und des Einbeziehens von Gegenwartskunst in den Kontext anderer Aktivitäten. Die aus den Arbeiten resultierenden Schlussfolgerungen sind aber universeller. Die Ästhetik dieser Arbeiten und die radikale Methode die beschriebenen Ereignisse zu vereinfachen sind Spiegelbild des uns umgebenden Trends alle Tätigkeiten und Prozesse zu rationalisieren und zu optimieren. Borowski geht fließend von positivistischem Optimismus zu vernichtender Selbstironie über, wie in der gleichnamigen mehrteiligen malerischen Arbeit „How Art Works?“, indem er seine eigene Strategie, den Eindruck zu erwecken ein guter Künstler zu sein, bloß stellt.

In seinen jüngsten Werken widmet sich Borowski, der ursprünglich aus der Malerei kommt, der Frage, wie digitale Informationen und Daten auch „analog“ visuell abbildbar sind. In den in der Ausstellung zu sehenden Portrait-Malereien ist diese Tendenz bereits erkennbar. So zeichnet der Künstler nicht ein genaues Abbild seiner oftmals auf bekannten Persönlichkeiten basierenden Modelle, sondern verfremdet diese stark – was bleibt ist eine abstrakte Idee dessen, was Personen und Subjekte auszeichnet und wie sie sich in Gesellschaft zeigen (lassen).

Maruša Sagadin zeigt eine Serie von Objekten namens „Tschumi Alumni“, die auf architektonischen Formen basieren – etwa Fensteröffnungen, die aussehen, als seien sie von Fäusten in die Wand geschlagen, in diesem Kontext aber als Beine von Skulpturen fungieren. Über sie sind fast identische rechteckige Formen gespannt. Die Grenze zwischen der Basis (Bein), die ein eigenes Objekt darstellt, und der Skulptur in Lebensgröße – ähnlich Bein zu Körper, Individuum zu Gesellschaft oder Architektur zu Stadt – ist verschwommen und unklar. Die geometrisch geformten Oberflächen sind glänzend poliert und sehen fast aus wie freihängende Bilder. Ihre Farbpalette erinnert an die Washington Color School, Österreichisches Lilien-Porzellan, „politische“ Farben und Popkultur. Die Auswahl an einfachen Materialien wie Beton, Polystyrol und Sperrholz, wie man sie im Baumarkt findet, bekunden das Interesse der Künstlerin für alles, was täuschend und seltsam erscheint. In Ihren Arbeiten bezieht sich Sagadin auch auf traditionelle architektonische Formen, wie die dorische Säule oder die Karyatiden, und übersetzt diese in einen postmodernen feministischen Kontext.

Die Künstlerin arrangiert die Skulpturen, die zugleich auch Figuren sind, in Kombination mit den Säulen in der Ausstellungshalle. Es scheint beinahe so, als würde die Objektgruppe – als eine Art Konterpart - mit den anderen Skulpturen und der spezifischen Raumarchitektur in Dialog treten. Die Skulpturen stellen scheinbar eine Gruppe von Menschen dar und stehen als Metapher für eine Person oder marginalisierte Gruppe, die in das soziale Skelett einer Stadt und ihrer Infrastruktur verpflanzt ist. Einer Stadt, in der das Hauptaugenmerk auf Vergnügen, Konsum, Arbeit und Körperkult gelegt wird.

Im Außenbereich des Künstlerhauses und damit im öffentlichen Raum des Grazer Stadtparks hat Sagadin eine überdimensionale Bank und als solche benutzbare Skulptur gestellt. Auf der Oberseite der in bunten Farben lackierten Skulptur „DORIS" sind Props wie Lippenstift oder Plateauschuhe angebracht, zwischen die sich Passant_innen zum Ausrasten vom geschäftigen Alltag setzen können, um sich in Ruhe umzusehen und vielleicht miteinander zu unterhalten.

Tymek Borowski studierte an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Warschau und arbeitet als Maler, Filmautor und Infografiker. Er war Mitbegründer mehrerer Kunstkollektive und Galerien sowie des Onlineprojekts Billy Gallery und des Czosnek Studios für experimentelles Design. Er wurde mit dem VIEWS Deutsche Bank Foundation Audience Award (2013) und dem Polityka Pass Award (2016) ausgezeichnet.
Zu seinen aktuellen Ausstellungen zählen „Love, Memory, Curiosity" im Geologischen Museum Warschau; „Collection #3: Part 2", Chamber Gallery, New York; „Common Affairs", Deutsche Bank KunstHalle, Berlin; „Warsaw Under Construction 7: Rekonstruktion Dispute", MoMA, Warschau; „Progress and Hygiene“, Zachęta National Gallery of Art, Warschau (in Zusammenarbeit mit Pawel Śliwiński) und „As You Can See. Polish Art Today“, MoMA, Warschau.

Maruša Sagadin schloss Architektur an der TU Graz ab bevor sie auf die Akademie der Bildenden Künste wechselte und Bildhauerei studierte. Neben einigen Auszeichnungen absolvierte sie 2016 eine einjährige ISCP-Residenz in New York, außerdem wurde ihr 2009/2010 ein MAK Schindler House-Forschungsstipendium in Los Angeles gewährt.
Zuletzt waren ihre Werke in der New Art Dealers Alliance (NADA) New York, Christine König Galerie in Wien, im SPACE in London, im Syndicate in Köln, in den österreichischen Kulturforen New York und London, in der Kunsthalle Wien, im Room of Requirement von Horse & Pony Fine Arts Berlin sowie im MSU Museum zeitgenössischer Kunst Ljubljana zu sehen. Im Jahr 2016 erschien, unter Mitwirkung ihres langjährigen Projektkollegen Christian Hoffelner, Maruša Sagadins Monographie © MMXV (Verlag für Moderne Kunst), die beim Wettbewerb „Schönste Bücher Österreichs 2016“ ausgezeichnet wurde.

„Tschumi Alumni. How art works? How culture works?“ wurde bereits im Österreichischen Kulturforum Warschau / Austriackie Forum Kultury (20.11.2017 – 19.01.2018) gezeigt und wird nun im Grazer Künstlerhaus, Halle für Kunst & Medien in erweiterter Form präsentiert. Die Ausstellung wird von einem Rahmenprogrammm und Beiträgen auf der Online-Plattform des KM–Journal begleitet (journal.km-k.at).

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h