Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
Journal
De / En
12 10 2017  18:00
trigon-Talk

with Heidulf Gerngross, Eilfried Huth, Peter Noever, and Heidrun Primas

Günther Domenig / Eilfried Huth, Ausstellungstransformator, 1967
transparent temporary architecture, trigon 67, Künstlerhaus, Graz, photo: Eilfried Huth

For more then six weeks in 1967, Graz’s Kleine Zeitung received raging letters to the editor, concerning the the tri-nation biennale, "trigon 67." In the September 16th edition of Kleine Zeitung, Graz’s vice mayor, Dipl.-Ing. DDr. Alexander Götz, published a letter in which he called "trigon 67" „a one-off provocation,” and proceeded to personally attack participating artists and their works. Based on these letters, our trigon-Talk will bring together architect Eilfried Huth (responsible for the entry situation in 1967 and 2017), as well as architect and artist Heidulf Gerngross, curator-at-large Peter Noever, and the director of Forum Stadtpark Heidrun Primas. Taking both iterations of the biennale into consideration, they will discuss the relationship between art and the public sphere.

Heidulf Gerngross (1939 Kötschach, AT – Wien, AT) studied architecture in Vienna and Graz, as well as painting in Tokyo. In 1976, Gerngross received a post-graduate degree in Urban Land Economics in Los Angeles. In the same year, he and Helmut Richter founded the architecture firm Gerngross-Richter. Gerngross is also the publisher of the print quaterly ST/A/R. In 2008 he was awarded the City of Vienna prize.

Eilfried Huth (1930 Pangalengan, ID – Graz, AT) studied architecture at TU Graz from 1950 to 1956. In 1963, Huth, the lawyer Erich Kleinschuster, and the architect Günther Domenig founded an architecture firm, subsequently winning the commission for the new building of Pädagogische Akademie of the Diözese Graz- Seckau in 1964. In 1967, Huth was part of the infamous exhibition trigon 67. Between 1985 and 2002, he was a professor at the Academy of Art in Berlin.

Peter Noever (1941 Innsbruck, AT – Wien, AT) was the director and CEO of the Museum of Applied Art MAK Vienna/Los Angeles from 1985 to 2011. Throughout his career as a designer and curator, he continually played a leading role in the Austrian and global art scene, presenting project around the globe. He is the founder of MAK Center for Art and Architecture in Los Angeles (with 3 houses by Rudolf M. Schindler) 1994 and of the Josef Hoffmann Museum in Brtnice, Czech Republic, 2006. He is also the principal of no/ever design studios in Vienna.

Heidrun Primas (1968 Graz, AT - Graz, AT) is the director of Forum Stadtpark in Graz (2011- present). She has a degree in architecture from TU Graz, where she taught for many years. Primas is the founder of multiple initiatives, i.e. Offener Betrieb Graz (Open Modes, 2013) and Reiningherz Initiative in 2014.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En
12 10 2017  18:00
trigon-Talk

mit Heidulf Gerngross, Eilfried Huth, Peter Noever und Heidrun Primas

Günther Domenig / Eilfried Huth, Ausstellungstransformator, 1967
Transparente Temporärarchitektur, trigon 67, Künstlerhaus, Graz, Foto: Eilfried Huth

Über sechs Wochen erhielt die Kleine Zeitung in Graz 1967 wütende Leserbriefe zur aktuellen Ausgabe der Dreiländerbiennale „trigon". In der Kleine Zeitung vom 16. September 1967 bezeichnete Bürgermeister-Stellvertreter Dipl.-Ing. DDr. Alexander Götz „trigon 67" als „eine einmalige Provokation“, anschließend griff er die Künstler selbst an und kritisierte deren Werke. Ausgehend von diesen Leserbriefen werden im trigon-Talk der 1967 wie 2017 für die Eingangssituation verantwortliche Architekt Eilfried Huth und der Architekt und Künstler Heidulf Gerngross sowie der Ausstellungsmacher Peter Noever und die Leiterin des Forum Stadtpark Heidrun Primas das Verhältnis von Kunst und Öffentlichkeit damals und heute diskutieren.

Heidulf Gerngross (1939 Kötschach, AT – Wien, AT) unternahm Architekturstudien in Wien und Graz, außerdem ein Malereistudium in Tokio. In Los Angeles absolvierte er 1971 ein postgraduales Studium in Urban Land Economics. 1976 erfolgte die Gründung des Architektenbüros Gerngross-Richter, gemeinsam mit Helmut Richter. Gerngross ist Herausgeber des vierteljährlich erscheinenden Printmediums ST/A/R, 2008 erhielt er den Preis der Stadt Wien für Architektur.

Eilfried Huth (1930 Pangalengan, ID – Graz, AT) studierte von 1950 bis 1956 an der TU Graz. 1963 gründete er gemeinsam mit dem Juristen Erich Kleinschuster und dem damals in Wien lebenden Architekten Günther Domenig ein Architekturbüro, mit welchem er 1964 den Wettbewerb der Pädagogischen Akademie der Diözese Graz- Seckau gewinnen konnte. Es folgte die aufsehenerregende Beteiligung an trigon 67. Von 1985 bis 2002 war Huth Professor an der Hochschule der Künste in Berlin.

Peter Noever (1941 Innsbruck, AT – Wien, AT) war von 1986 bis 2011 künstlerischer Leiter und CEO des Museums für angewandte Kunst MAK Wien/Los Angeles. Im Laufe seiner beruflichen Tätigkeit nahm er als Designer und Ausstellungsmacher immer wieder eine Vorreiterrolle sowohl innerhalb der österreichischen Kunstszene ein als auch weltweit. Noever ist Gründer des MAK Center for Art and Architecture in Los Angeles
(mit 3 Häusern von Rudolf M. Schindler) 1994 und des Josef Hoffmann Museums in Brtnice, Tschechische Republik, 2006. Zudem ist er Principal des no/ever design studios in Wien.

Heidrun Primas (1968 Graz, AT - Graz, AT) ist seit 2011 Leiterin des Forums Stadtpark. Sie studierte Architektur in Graz, wo sie auch für mehrere Jahre eine Dozentur an der Fakultät für Architektur der Technischen Universität inne hatte. Primas ist außerdem Mitbegründerin mehrerer Initiativen wie des Vereins Offener Betrieb Graz 2013 oder der Initiative Reiningherz 2014.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h