Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday
10am–6pm
Thursday
10am–8pm
De / En
Journal
De / En
19 04 2018  19:00
Concert

CHICKEN

with Katrin Plavčak, Nicholas Hoffman, Hari Ganglberger

CHICKEN Hari Ganglberger, Katrin Plavčak, Nicholas Hoffman

CHICKEN is a recently formed trio with Katrin Plavčak on guitar and vocals, Nicholas Hoffman on bass and vocals and Hari Ganglberger on drums. Their music is independent songwriting and the songs are interpreted in the classic three piece sound, direct and playful, using driving rhythms and sometimes odd meters, amplified and distorted sounds plus the human vocal system. The lyrics talk about electricity, chicken, robots, an earthquake and bees, body-parts, a man sitting in the dark, but also space travel, how you get by with poor eyesight or about the painter Nina Hamnett. The band members fancy bands like Captain Beefheart, Talking Heads, Magnetic Fields, Jonathan Richmen, Jellyfish Kiss, King Missile, Snakefinger and the Plastic People of the Universe.

Katrin Plavčak - e-guitar + vocals

Katrin Plavčak is an artist born in Germany, who grew up in Austria, studied painting at the Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna and lived in Berlin the last 16 years. She was a member of the bands Blendwerk (Vienna) and Erste Stufe Haifisch (Berlin) and released with them 3 CD’s and an audiotape.

Nicholas Hoffman - e-bass + vocals

Ohio-based Nicholas Hoffman currently lives in Vienna. He studied sculpture at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna and at Städelschule Frankfurt. He makes music and objects and sometimes puts them together in long performances.

Hari Ganglberger - drums

The drummer, Hari Ganglberger, born in Upper Austria studied classical percussion at the Conservatory Linz and Jazz drums at the Conservatory Vienna. In 1999 he relocated to New York City, where he worked as a musician for the next 16 years. He collaborated, among others, with Bill Laswell, DinMachine, and Kap10Kurt.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Tuesday to Sunday 10am–6pm
Thursday 10am–8pm

Künstlerhaus
Halle für
Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag
10–18h
Donnerstag
10–20h
De / En
Journal
De / En
19 04 2018  19:00
Konzert

CHICKEN

mit Katrin Plavčak, Nicholas Hoffman, Hari Ganglberger

CHICKEN Hari Ganglberger, Katrin Plavčak, Nicholas Hoffman

CHICKEN ist ein vor kurzem gegründetes Trio mit Katrin Plavčak, Gitarre und Stimme, Nicholas Hoffman, Bass und Stimme und Hari Ganglberger am Schlagzeug. Ihre Musik kommt vom unabhängigen Liedschreiben her; die Songs werden in klassischer Trio Besetzung interpretiert, direkt und spielerisch, mit rockigen Rhythmen und manchmal seltsamen Taktarten, verzerrten und verstärkten Sounds und dem menschlichen Stimmapparat. Bands, die CHICKEN gerne hören, sind Captain Beefheart, Talking Heads, Magnetic Fields, Jonathan Richmen, Jellyfish Kiss, King Missile, Snakefinger und Plastic People of the Universe. Die Texte handeln von Elektrizität, Hühnern, Robotern, einem Erdbeben und Bienen, Körperteilen, einem Mann der im Dunkeln sitzt, aber auch Reisen in den Weltraum, wie es ist, wenn man schlecht sieht, oder über die Malerin Nina Hamnett.

Katrin Plavčak - e-guitar + vocals

Katrin Plavčak ist in Deutschland geboren, in Österreich aufgewachsen, studierte Malerei an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Wien und lebte die letzten 16 Jahre in Berlin. Sie war Mitglied in den Bands Blendwerk (Wien) und Erste Stufe Haifisch (Berlin) und veröffentliche mit ihnen 3 CD’s und eine Musikkasette.

Nicholas Hoffman - e-bass + vocals

Nicholas Hoffman kommt aus Ohio, lebt aber jetzt in Wien. Er studierte Bildhauerei an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien und an der Städelschule in Frankfurt. Er macht Musik und Objekte und verbindet diese manchmal in langen Performances.

Hari Ganglberger - drums

Hari Ganglberger, der aus Oberösterreich stammende Drummer studierte klassisches Schlagwerk in Linz und absolvierte ein Studium für Jazz Drums am Konservatorium der Stadt Wien. 1999 übersiedelte er nach New York City, wo er die folgenden 16 Jahre als Musiker arbeitete. Zusammenarbeit mit Bill Laswell, DinMachine, Kap10Kurt und vielen anderen.

Künstlerhaus
Halle für Kunst & Medien

Burgring 2
8010 Graz, Austria
Dienstag bis Sonntag 10–18h
Donnerstag 10–20h